SPIRAL RAPTURE - VARIATIONS I and II

“To hell with reality! I want to die in music, not in reason or in prose. People don't deserve the restraint we show by not going into delirium in front of them. To hell with them!”
Louis-Ferdinand Celine

upscaler-SPIRAL RAPTURE 001-72px2000-2x.jpg
SPIRAL RAPTURE
graphite on paper - 1993 - 6 3/8 x 10 1/4 inches - 16 x 27.5 cm
private collection, Austria

This first drawing was inspired by an etching of the Austrian artist Ernst Steiner, called 'Lebensbaum'. Back then, I just saw it as a design on a postage stamp. Many years later, when I returned to Austria, I became friends with him (he actually lives only a few blocks from my place in Vienna). I purchased the etching from him prior to an exhibition in Gloggnitz 2016 that I helped organize. It is one of my prized possessions.

There are some works that I regret letting go and I wished I still had it. So I decided to make a larger second version of it:

SPIRAL RAPTURE - finished 005.JPGSPIRAL RAPTURE II
graphite on paper - 40cm x 70cm - 2013
​exhibited last time in Seattle USA, 2016 IM’AGO PRIMORDIALIS at Krab Jab Studio

IM'AGO PRIMORDIALIS exhibition-GOOD200px.jpg

28070653174_362d709dd1_o Exhibition Seattle 2016.jpg

28609579961_d813ba4c17_o Exhibition Seattle 2016.jpg

I was particularly pleased to share a wall with a work by H.R. Giger

SPIRAL RAPTURE - finished 005-CROP-DETAIL.jpgSPIRAL RAPTURE II - detail
cropping out to the center, you can see the resemblance with the first work

That drawing had an adventurous trip prior to getting to Seattle. I actually sent it to my friend Liba in Paris: she was taking it in her luggage to the USA a year earlier for a show SPIRAL RAPTURE at Bash Gallery.JPGprior to the show in Seattle, it was exhibited at the Bash Gallery in San Francisco - May 2015 - Note: this gallery does not exist anymore


Lately I had used these images as seed images for AI creations, which I plan on posting at some point in future, albeit not on OCA (I just noticed the no AI rule the other day).


Visit my website

ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg

PRINTS OF MY ARTWORK AVAILABLE HERE:
PIXELS SHOP BANNER.JPG

Bonus Special: LETS WORK TOGETHER



MY INTRODUCTION - ABOUT MY WORK

should you not be on the blockchain, or have no upvote power, or this post is already older than 7 days, you can always just buy me a coffee.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center