Art Attack #205: EZ to RIP than live 🪦

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

We're onto another series of Twitch emotes! I've shared about my streaming journey on Twitch in multiple posts and the art I've done both for my Twitch channel and for my viewers. Earlier this year, Twitch announced that Affiliates (such as myself) would get access to many more emotes slots so I was scrambling to draw new ones to fill them for the first half of this year.

Here are some of the more recent ones I've done:

This next one was actually completed pretty recently, but was something I had in mind for some time. It's a dead emote which is quite fitting since everyone on the internet now is dead for some reason one way or another.

I did a quick sketch based on some references I found which were pretty cute, with a ghost floating up from the mouth looking like the soul leaving the body.

image.png

Then I found some other references with the dead body holding a flower which I thought would be quite nice too. I also wanted a more lying down position since that would fit better with being dead and all.

image.png

I referenced a rose vector I found for my flower and this was the final sketch:

image.png

After doing the outline and colour, we get this:

image.png

I was debating what colour to make the rose, but then decided a white one would be more suitable since it's for the dead. After adding the ghost and some shadows for effect, we get this!

image.png

I wasn't really sure how purple to make the face and maybe I should've blended it more to make it a better transition but I didn't want it to affect the contrast for the eyes. I also changed the rose to a wilted rose since bottom right corner was getting too congested and I wanted to maximise the space. I thought this looked a lot better with a lot of nice colour contrasts.

This next one is pretty simple and quite a meme, but maybe an older one at this point. When I watched SPYxFAMILY I really liked Anya's facial expressions, especially the one where she looks really smug. If you've seen the memes or watched the anime, you know the one.

image.png

So my idea for this is basically to make my TacoCat with that face with the letters EZ since it's a gamer thing to mean "easy game" or something similar. I thought it'd be perfect since it's just a smug and cocky thing to say so it'd be a good fit for this face.

image.png

It'd also be very zoomed in just like in the anime, so all I had to do was trace the face and draw the letters. I did it in the same font as the GG emote so they would match and because I really like that bubble font.

image.png

The only thing I wasn't really sure about was the colour of the letters. I went with blue for the GG emote so I tried a purple since I thought it would complement the yellow face. However, since the letters are on the brown and red portion I decided to change to a green instead and I think it looked a lot better, and this is the final product:

image.png

I think these two emotes looked pretty solid overall. I got these done quite some time ago and there's not much I would change even now. They're also emotes I still use quite frequently until today so I think they're good.

Here's the timelapse for these two emotes:

Thanks for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

Art Attack #204: Memey TacoCats! 😸

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center