Art Attack #198: Hype with Confetti TacoCat! 🎉

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

I've shared about my streaming journey on Twitch in multiple posts and the art I've done both for my Twitch channel and for my viewers who redeem free artwork from me with their channel points. A few years ago, I wrote about the emotes I did for my Twitch channel and now it's years later I have done so many more and have even redrawn some older ones so I guess it's time for a huge new update!

Here are some that I did 3 years ago that I forgot to write about last time:

The next one I'm writing about is the one in the middle - the hype TacoCat!
For this one I got inspiration from other hype emotes I've seen, with people having their characters' arms up and confetti raining down as if they just threw it up into the air.

image.png

It seemed pretty simple so I did a simple sketch to see what it would look like and then transformed my PNG accordingly to match the position.

image.png

Once I drew in the arms and the face it was pretty much done. All I had to do was draw in the confetti too. I wanted them in different shapes and colours but have them not clash with the colours of my character too, so I chose some bright ones that would contrast with the yellow. In the end we get this:

image.png

I thought this looked really good and pretty cute too! To this day this emote is unchanged and I don't think there's a need to tbh. It looks good and simple and since it's only going to be 100px at max in the chat I think it's fine as is.

For another emote, I wanted to do one with a suspicious (or sus) expression, since chat be making a lot of sus comments from time to time.

image.png

I used these as reference and didn't really know how to draw the hands. I changed it a little bit since I can't have the hand under the taco chin as it's too wide. I thought the expression was good but I wasn't really sure about the hands.

image.png

In the end, we get this which I thought was fine at the time. But tbh I don't really like how this look now. I think last time I was hell-bent on making my TacoCat look exactly the same position-wise, but now that I've made quite a few in different poses, perspectives and sizes, I would remake this one as well.

If I had to change it, I think I would make it look more like the piggy one I did for a friend last year that looks like this:

This one not only references the Fry meme more accurately but also looks better overall with the position of the hands and all. I would have to draw little bit of a body for my TacoCat with this but I think I could make it work.

Here's the timelapse for these two emotes:

Overall, these emotes are pretty alright and looking back at these has made me realise that I'm glad that I've improved but also that I was still good enough last time that there are still some I wouldn't change.

There are still a few more to share so stay tuned! Thanks for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

Art Attack #197: Cat lurking in a Taco box 🌮😸

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center