Art Attack #196: Swole TacoCat Bonking 🔨

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

I've shared about my streaming journey on Twitch in multiple posts and the art I've done both for my Twitch channel and for my viewers who redeem free artwork from me with their channel points. A few years ago, I wrote about the emotes I did for my Twitch channel and now it's years later I have done so many more and have even redrawn some older ones so I guess it's time for a huge new update in that aspect.

Here are some that I did 3 years ago that I forgot to write about last time:

image.png

The first one is called TacoSwole which I actually did post about long ago, since I also used it as a bit badge. Badges are special icons that users can put beside their name in the chat that will show up on individual Twitch channels and if you send bits/cheers on a channel you get a special badge too!

My chat likes to say that I'm super buff since I do exercises like pushups while streaming whenever someone redeems for me to do it, so I thought of making a buff TacoCat emote!

image.png

I didn't know how to draw the arms at the time so for the rework I thought of looking up references for buff arms. I found one I thought looked simple enough on shutterstock. I didn't want anything too detailed since it was going to be 72px at best it wouldn't be seen easily.

image.png

I'm not sure if this was an improvement per se, but I think it looks less cursed than the other one.

image.png

Honestly, looking at this now I wouldn't know how to change it which is why I probably haven't after all this while. Maybe next time I'll make it look better and draw it like the swole doge meme that looks like this:

Another one I wanted to share is the bonk emote! If you've been on the internet for a while you've probably seen this meme before:

If even the Daily Dot and South China Morning Post are writing about it it's practically mainstream or even outdated by now. But my chat gets quite naughty sometimes so they deserve a bonk from time to time. Some streamers would do the opposite and have chat bonk the streamer but it's mostly the other way around in my community so I thought of drawing me with the hammer/bat.

image.png

The main problem I had with this one was finding the right position and pose for my TacoCat to hold the hammer while still maximising the 500x500px canvas.

image.png

But I also wanted the hammer to take up more of the space so it would be obvious in the chat that it was a bonk. I also wanted to model it after Kirby's hammer since I really liked the colours.

image.png

Ultimately I settled on this which I thought looked pretty good other than the hammer being a bit skewed and unbalanced.

image.png

So I changed it a little bit and I think this looks better. I'm still a little off on the paws but they're not that important so it's okay.

image.png

I think this one still holds up after 3 years and I still like it a lot. Here's the timelapse for these two:

Look forward to more posts where I share more of my older emotes before going to newer ones!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

Art Attack #195: Minimalist Moonscape 🌜

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center