Belem Lighthouse(Lisbon). WORLDPHOTOGRAPHY CONTEST ROUND-33

Greetings friends,

I hope you have a very nice weekend.

The following photo is my first participation in the #worldphotogarphy community and my participation to ROUND #33 - Lighthouses contest organized by @marc-allaria.

In the month of July I spent a week in Lisbon for work and stayed in a hotel 2 on the banks of the Tagus River, about 2 kilometers from the Belém district.

One day, after leaving work, I parked my car in an outdoor parking lot near the Belém Tower. This tower was originally a defensive wall of the city and in the following centuries after its construction it was also a prison and was even used as a lighthouse. However, many years ago the lighthouse was taken to one of the islands of the Azores archipelago.

Belem Tower. Old lighthouse

After a few minutes in this place, I moved to the monument of the discoveries, which is a large sculpture in honor of various personalities of the golden age of Portuguese sailors who embarked in Lisbon with the mission to discover and conquer new worlds unknown to the European continent.

Shortly before reaching the monument of the discoveries, in the middle of the promenade is this small brick and stone lighthouse which is known as Faro de Belém. As a curiosity, to indicate that this lighthouse was constructed for the exhibition of the Portuguese World of 1940 and has never been in use.

Belem Lighthouse. My entry to worldphotography contest round-33

From the promenade between the Belém Tower and the Monument of the Discoveries I took multiple pictures of the numerous recreational boats that travel along the Tagus River, allowing tourists to enjoy these three great points of interest of the neighborhood from a perspective from inside the river.

I remember that after this walk I went to the famous pastry shop where the mythical cream cakes, known as Pasteles de Belém, are sold before returning to my car and going back to the hotel.

I hope you like the lighthouse that I have brought you and also the rest of the nearby places to visit in the vicinity.

Best regards friends.

Best regards friends.

Original photos taken with my iPhone SE.

Cover created with Canva (free version).

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center