Visit to the Morro Castle Lighthouse

Taking advantage of the activities for the Cuban Science Day and the proximity to the International Book Fair, today I visited the Morro-Cabañas Complex located in the Historic Center of the capital of Cuba and I was able to take a series of photographs that if they were not much better was due to the poor quality of the author as a photographer.

It was a guided visit, in which we learned a lot about the Morro-Cabañas construction, a fortification built to protect Havana from enemy attacks and which today is a World Heritage Site.

As part of the tour program, we visited the Encuentro de dos Culturas (Encounter of Two Cultures) room. Here we were given a real lesson on the aborigines and the Spaniards, how the first relations were made and how they became extinct as a result of the process of conquest and colonization.

We visited other important areas within the complex, but the one that is the focus of this publication was the visit to the Morro Castle Lighthouse, as it is one of the highest points of the city and from where I could see a large part of my beloved capital.

This lighthouse has a height of 25 meters and 44 meters above sea level, as the tour guide explained to us. To reach the top of the lighthouse and be able to see the beautiful views of Havana you have to climb more than 110 steps made of stones and the last 15 of wood.

As usual, the place is full of foreign tourists who go to visit the lighthouse and, by the way, take in the beautiful views of the capital from the place. According to the guide who accompanied us, this is one of the most visited places by foreigners visiting our country. Likewise, it is a center where many international events are held.

I admit that it was hard to reach the top, but I had to make the effort to enjoy the beautiful scenery of my beautiful Havana and I did it. This is another of my goals accomplished in the capital.

Note: I used the translator DeepL Translate.
The photos were taken with my Samsung J2 cell phone.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center