Puzzle pictures - Walk in the city of Dimitrovgrad

Puzzle pictures

Well, today I know the following pictures will not build a puzzle. They won't give any idea of ​​the city I was walking in that day.
But even so, even if I don't have enough photos to represent the city properly, it doesn't mean that I haven't discovered enough interesting things along the way. I have discovered!

IMG_20221022_182305.jpg

This walk was dominated by architecture. It was a study of architecture. It was searching, discovering and exploring. But I won't talk about that right now. Nor will I burden your attention again with architecture and history.

IMG_20221022_183141.jpg

I won't even tell you what it says on this sign, which presents some historical facts about the city. Well, you can read it yourself, although not everything.
However, I must point out that the condition of this plaque perfectly corresponds to the condition of the architecture that I have so diligently sought and researched that day.

IMG_20221022_183056.jpg

Here is the "pink house" for example. I have told you about it in detail, and this is one last remaining picture of this building. Here, I publish it, and I will mention it no more!

IMG_20221022_182619.jpg

Another residential building. Another piece of art. A great achievement from the communist past. Yes, it is an achievement, because it is a non-standard residential building, the kind of which is difficult to see elsewhere.

IMG_20221022_182846.jpg

Stray cat sleeping in the grass next of one of those monumental residential buildings.
The population of street cats increased dramatically that year. I don't know if you noticed. Their number was exploding.

IMG_20221022_182807.jpg

See here. A cat mother is nursing her already large kitten right on the sidewalk.

IMG_20221022_182743.jpg

Accidental picture while walking. That is why it is so blurred. Sometimes my phone takes pictures on its own because it's set to respond to loud sound (and so it often takes interesting pictures 😄).
I haven't deleted it. It is proof. That I've been there. Photos are always my proof for everything.

IMG_20221022_182452.jpg

I love finding and capturing artifacts of the past. An old inscription has been preserved here on the wall of this residential building. I guess it dates back to when this city was built - the middle of the last century.
It says:
we are building Dimitrovgrad
our pride

Of course, this inscription, speaking of pride, stands rather ridiculously on this unmaintained building, as well as against the background of the distressing situation around.

IMG_20221022_182348.jpg

The continuation of the building with... a cat that looked bad at me.
While the voices of a man and a woman arguing came from inside the building.

IMG_20221022_182705.jpg

A note left by the water supply and sewerage company notifying that due to Covid, the visits of collectors reading the water meters of the houses have been suspended. Note placed next to obituaries. Both the way it is attached (with tape?) and its location on the door speak volumes

You probably think that the buildings I show you are abandoned. No, that's not true.

IMG_20221022_182550.jpg

But the building on which this graffiti stands was abandoned. The Bulgarian flag. How grotesque. Standing on the wall of a gutted, ugly building.

IMG_20221022_182529.jpg

But see this.
I still don't know what it is like. I've never seen something something like that before. Is it home? 🤔 Or does it serve to transport animals? Or to transport something else?

IMG_20221022_182936.jpg

Anyways, my walk ends here. And that's the last weird thing I came across that day. And it's weird because I found it in the back of an apartment building. And it took time for my eyes to read and my brain to process what it was seeing in that alluring red light.

IMG_20221022_183023.jpg

I thought it was a brothel, I confess, as incredible as that may seem. 😄 (I think that's forbidden in the country.)
But it's not that, of course.
"Gaming Room" - so it says in those glowing letters above the entrance (gambling is not forbidden.)

IMG_20221020_183800.jpg

Of course. I immediately remembered. There are so many gambling halls in this city. As if they are vital to the population.
Maybe they really are. But I will write about that another time.


Copyright: @soulsdetour


Hive.jpgSoul's Detour is a project started by me years ago when I had a blog about historical and not so popular tourist destinations in Eastern Belgium, West Germany and Luxembourg. Nowadays, this blog no longer exists, but I'm still here - passionate about architecture, art and mysteries and eager to share my discoveries and point of view with you.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now