A Walk Through Aoyama, Tokyo

I've mentioned before that Tokyo is so massive you could spend years here and still not see it all. Which is what happened to me the other day when I went for my morning walk. I visited a part of Aoyama that I have never been to. To be fair much of the area consists of a giant cemetery so there wasn't ever really a reason to go there. Having said that though, the borders of the cemetery contain some really insane real estate, Roppongi, MidTown, Harajuku, and Shibuya.

I caught the first train into the city at 4:41am. When I arrived in Shibuya I thought I should walk somewhere I had never been and so I decided on Aoyama.

Aoyama is an area located between much better known areas such as Shibuya & Roppongi.

It's a very wealthy area and I would describe it as more of a Japanese area, not so much for tourists. There are tourist spots, but they are much more specific sites like the Japanese Candle Association.

It was nice getting out into the city before most people were out. It was just before 6am and the streets were still empty except for the taxis and large work trucks.

Turning down a side street and it was even quieter.

A sculpture at the entry to a mansion.

This phone booth on the street brought back so many memories. Remember phone cards!?

I remember at one time these phones had ethernet jacks so you could get online. Time flies!

As I got near the cemetery the Mori skyscraper made it's appearance.

Then the cemetery opened up.

The Aoyama cemetery dates back to 1874. It has an interesting history being the first "public" cemetery. Unlike the private cemeteries attached to a temple.

Reading about it I found that quite a few foreigners were buried here as well. While I didn't go into the cemetery, just stayed on the road, I kinda want to visit it again now to see the foreign graves.

A bridge over a road below and the cemetery continues.

The leafless trees you see in the picture below are sakura trees. They will be in full bloom in about 1 week. There are parts of the cemetery that are lined with the trees.

Some ume trees were in full bloom already in the left side of this picture.

It's a very pretty cemetery despite the nature of it's guests. I have to say if I had a choice I'd like to be laid to rest there so when my offspring would have a comfortable place to visit me at.

In addition I'd be next to Roppongi so my ghost could go out partying.

As we near the end of the cemetery a tunnel to the underworld highways lies ahead.

One last look back to make sure I didn't bring any unwanted guests with me.

A closer view of the Mori tower.

Continuing on past the tunnel.

Around the corner I came upon this bridal shop.

It's actually the home a famous designer, Yumi Katsura. It was an attractive building that definitely stood out.

What's that? Oh, just a Ferrari parked at a pay parking lot.

That was the end of the Aoyama portion of my walk. From there I wandered through the back streets of Harajuku back to Shibuya station. I ended up walking 10km and making it home before lunch. My feet and calves were destroyed though because I foolishly wore my boots. I won't make that mistake again, or until I forget about the pain and do it again.

Here are some closing pictures on Ometesando street in Harajuku.

Seems there was a TV or movie filming going on.

Thanks for reading!

All pictures taken with my iPhone11.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center