An Empty Road For A Wednesday Morning Walk

Jogging isn’t really my thing. Today, however, I decided to just give it a shot, to see how far my strength would carry me. I left the house at about 6:47am. The road was dry and empty, which was somewhat unusual. Then, I realized that this is Uyo, Nigeria. A place where people don't like stress. (LOL)



On seeing how quiet the road was, I decided to walk instead of jogging.

Typically, the street should already be buzzing with people and vehicles, but due to the high cost of petrol transportation has been discouraging. Gas stations do not even open for sale until about 8am. This has lagged the striving energy of many.. Sometimes, people trek to work or school as they cannot afford the cost of public transport. With petrol sold at roughly N1300 per liter, motorists have no joy for passengers either.


Well, this is Uyo, not Lagos or Port Harcourt or Onitsha, or any of those major cities where no matter the circumstances the roads are always busy even by 3am.

Akwa Ibom is a very quiet and serene place. The people are peace loving and mostly mind their family and business. Visitors can and always testify of this.

Uyo is the capital city of Akwa Ibom state, Nigeria.
A place you should visit if you ever come to Nigeria.(LOL)
(All photos used are mine)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center