Random Walk At Shek Pik Scenic Trail

24th January 2024

IMG_20240119_192754.jpg

Sometimes when I'm on a trail, I just let my feet lead me wherever they choose; I don't have a specific destination in mind; I just stroll and immerse in the surrounding beauty. Then I'll stop and return to my starting point once I'm satisfied with my walk. That happened to me again one weekend when I changed route to Shek Kip Trail after visiting a tourist attraction nearby.

As mentioned in my previous post, after a long workweek, I would much rather spend my weekends outside than spend the entire day in bed. If that occurs, I'll be binge-watching Korean dramas and movies, which is bad for my eyes if I do it all day. Instead of being enticed to watch K-dramas, I would rather travel and take in the breathtaking scenery in the countryside.

IMG_20240119_204142.jpg

My feet always desire to travel into the countryside or anywhere near nature as the week draws to a close. I traveled to Lantau Island once again to continue #MyLantauIslandExploration'24. I assume you have read a few of my earlier blogs that were taken there. If not, don't hesitate to visit my feed.

IMG_20240119_205349.jpg

This island is too big to see all of its stunning scenery, well-known landmarks, and hidden gems in a single day. I'm spending the rest of my wintertime exploring as many of this island's famous locations as I can. I will therefore spend most of my weekends outside.

IMG_20240114_162336.jpg

I took a detour after seeing one tourist attraction and came to this lookout platform with a beautiful view. I wanted to go for a stroll and see how far I could travel before dusk without worrying about the destination even though it was thirty minutes past four in the afternoon and the sunset was getting closer.

IMG_20240114_162214.jpg

IMG_20240119_204303.jpg

Shek Pik Reservoir was only a short distance from my post, according to my map, and I was determined to find a new location again. My objective is to visit several places in a single day because I find it to be rather fulfilling. I always told myself, "Just keep walking, see how far you can go, and simply stop whenever you want to."

IMG_20240119_205245.jpg

Following my mind, I walk through the Shek Pik scenic trail. I intended to just go on a walk, not caring where I ended up. Whether or not I made it to the reservoir before dusk, I just to have another walk. I was on the route alone again, like I always had been, but it didn't bother me. I pulled out my tripod, which would come in handy, hehe. I really wasn't bothered, right? hehe. Some people might think that I'm really brave for hiking alone, but I'm actually not. But I would rather come across people than untamed animals. If it occurred, my heart would race hysterically.

IMG_20240119_210520.jpg

The silent trail was convenient, though, as it has flat terrains and paved pathways. The more convenient the place is, the faster my pace. This type of track is ideal for a jog in the afternoon. But all I did was reserve my remaining energy for any situation that might arise and for making a safe return to the starting place.

Picsart_24-01-19_19-32-18-654.jpg

IMG_20240119_193313.jpg

I frequently stroll while mentally humming a song to take my mind off of my worries. I simply enjoyed strolling at my own leisure and taking in the relaxing scenery as I went. I couldn't resist pausing to take pictures of the pretty views, which featured untamed terrain, verdant foliage, and mesmerizing mountains.

IMG_20240119_211818.jpg

Can you see that sharp peak? It was inviting and made me want to visit it next time. But I didn't know its name and how to get there, lol.

IMG_20240119_211848.jpg

IMG_20240119_212151.jpg

The trail itself is picturesque, especially the views of the ground cast in shadows by the sun's rays as they pass through tree canopies. We usually overlook thins kind of natural beauty because we are too preoccupied with other things to notice the little details in our environment. So walking in nature somehow helps me appreciate this world and simple creatures around me.

IMG_20240119_212113.jpg

IMG_20240114_163316.jpg

IMG_20240114_163804.jpg

It was almost five in the afternoon and I still didn't see the view of the Shek Pik Reservoir.

IMG_20240119_212215.jpg

I made the decision to turn around and head back to my starting point since I felt like I wouldn't have enough time to get to the Shek Pik reservoir before dusk. Ever since my last experience taking the trail at night, I valued my safety more and stopped taking trails at night anymore, unless I had company.

IMG_20240119_220512.jpg

IMG_20240119_215530.jpg

I had enough walking and time in nature, so I decided to leave the trail. However, I wished I could have spent more time exploring more beautiful places and trails. But time flies and the sun is going to set soon, so it was best to leave the place before dusk.

IMG_20240119_215646.jpg

And with that, my random walk ended with a content heart. Legs may be tired but they easily recover. My eyes were drawn to breathtaking landscapes rather than K-dramas, and I made more priceless memories that I now have in my treasure chest.

Happy #WednesdayWalk and hope you are doing fine in your side of the world.

(All photos are mine)

FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCXDhCdbKLssUZHyzgV8BMivE5JBKjj6Z1mXGKEa2poFtSmgk8UUkkrURjvkmRJDTSPWo525rjc3ZyuTfsicGv3jrGn5u45Mc3UzoYhkXFZRSLN.webp

20230205_232024_0000.png

Join her on her quest for self-discovery and wanderlust. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, drop a comment, reblog, and follow for more wonderful adventures.

You can also reach me on my socials and let's be connected:

Facebook
YouTube
Twitter
noise.app
read.cash

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency