Wednesday Walk through Times Square

I am completing my series of walks around New York City for #wednesdaywalk (by @tattoodjay). If you'd like to read my other two Wednesday walks, please feel free to visit Central Park and Lower Manhattan. For this final installment from my trip back in May we are visiting Times Square. Fun fact: "Times Square got its name when the namesake newspaper, The New York Times, took up residence in the building (now known as One Times Square) in 1904." (Source: Eight Things You Didn't Know About Times Square)

I walked about 8 blocks from my hotel to Times Square. Along the way, I found the restaurant I'd be meeting a friend at for brunch and the Minskoff Theatre - home of Disney's The Lion King.

20220503_083109.jpg

While I see touring Broadway shows here in Indianapolis as well as nearby in Chicago when I can, I've still not gotten to see a Broadway show on Broadway. I had tickets to Hamilton but COVID took that opportunity so definitely need to check this off my bucket list. I did see The Lion King in Indianapolis when it toured a few years ago.

20220503_083219.jpg

You turn the corner and suddenly you find yourself in Times Square. Requisite selfie shot taken.

I also tried a panorama shot. Not sure how this will work on hive but it's worth a try.

20220503_083343.jpg

20220503_083732.jpg

I was here pretty early in the day - around 9 a.m. The "city that never sleeps" is slow to wake up for this Midwestern girl. So, the best I could do was take pictures of some of the storefronts. I love the Minnie Mouse Statue of Liberty art.

Pigeons are EVERYWHERE and a little too "friendly" for my taste. I like this picture though because it does give you a better understanding of where the Minskoff Theatre is in relation to Times Square.

20220503_084004.jpg

I left myself about 30 minutes of cushion so I could get these pictures in the daytime. I've visited Times Square at night when it's packed with people on two separate occasions but this was my first time in the quiet morning hours - it gives it a whole new dimension!

But, then it was off to meet up with my friend Jamie who came into the city to have brunch with me since we'd not been in person together since well before COVID. So glad we got to take this opportunity to meet up and that she was a good sport about taking the train into the city. If you're ever in NYC definitely make a stop in at Junior's.

20220503_110143.jpg

I hope you've enjoyed this series of Wednesday Walks through New York City.


All photos shot with a Samsung Galaxy S20 Ultra. No processing done to photos - they are all straight out of the camera.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now