Point and shoot

IMG_4449.jpg


A walk by the sea is always refreshing and rejuvenated. And this particular one had all it takes to be even more enjoyable and memorable!

To begin with, it was November so there were no tourists at all and we practically had the whole place for ourselves. Plus, the weather was just perfect for walking, not too hot, not too cold and the sky was decorated with amazing white clouds.

And it gets even better! The location is our favourite beach in Crete and the fact that we could enjoy it, in this time of the year, as well as being in time to catch the last blooming sand lilies of the season, was totally unexpected. I shared a lot of pictures of that miraculous plant and told you all about the circumstances that led us there in my previous post but there is more to that day that I want to share too!

IMG_4471.jpg

IMG_4448.jpg

IMG_4474.jpg

IMG_4437.jpg

IMG_4456.jpg


You may have heard about the wild beauty of the Cretan landscape and although it can get much wilder on the mountains, this coastline is for me, one of the best examples. Rocks masterly sculpted by nature itself, minimal but extremely resilient vegetation that can survive in a harsh, arid environment and an open horizon inviting you to get lost in your thoughts.

IMG_4403.jpg

IMG_4447.jpg

IMG_4434.jpg

IMG_4472.jpg

IMG_4460.jpg

IMG_4461.jpg


I may not be objective since I love this place so much but for me, it has a unique, mesmerising beauty. You can tell me your opinion in the comments but I know for sure that Marcos (our canine companion) enjoyed it as much as I did, maybe even more! But then again he enjoys to the maximum almost all our walks :)

IMG_4463.jpg

IMG_4459.jpg

IMG_4534.jpg

IMG_4501.jpg

IMG_4502.jpg

IMG_4479.jpg


I have to confess at this point that I hadn't my camera with me so I took @traisto's one, leaving her to take pictures with less elaborated equipment :)

But when we talk about sand lilies any photographic devise will do the trick. They are so charming on their own that you just have to point and shoot!

IMG_4527.jpg

IMG_4490.jpg

IMG_4524.jpg

IMG_4465.jpg

IMG_4398.jpg

IMG_4399.jpg


This was the seventh part of our trip from Nafplio to Crete, in order to harvest our olives and visit the places and the people that formed our daily life for almost a decade. It lasted from the first of November till the fifth of December and it was totally different from whatever we anticipated.

Below are the links of the previous posts or you can just visit my blog and scroll down.

  1. Just be patient

  2. A matter of minutes

  3. Just on my way!

  4. Indeed magnificent

  5. Hope dies last

  6. An unexpected gift


Finally, although it is only Tuesday, I would like to contribute this post to the #wednesdaywalk challenge, hosted by @tattoodjay :)


All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now