Lunch and Some History Photos

Hello Hivers. I hope everyone is doing well. Here we are another Wenesday which brings us past the midpoint of the week and that much closer to the weekend. So this is my submittal for #wenesdaywalk initiated by @tattoodjay in collaboration with #MakeMeSmile challenge. It is a good start to my Wenesda because I get to see what my paycheck amount will be on Friday. I am very pleased to see a bonus from my annual appraisal :)

IMG_20230607_121658190.jpg

Today I went to a chain restaurant for lunch. The name of this place is PepperJack Grill. I'll tell you a little bit about this place and show you what I chose off the menu. This post will mostly be about the walk I took around the restaurant taking pictures of the many photographs.

IMG_20230607_122714616.jpg

IMG_20230607_124109470.jpg

It's not a huge place the maximum capacity on the entry door states 74. The Philly Cheesesteak is what this place is known for. Other menu options include: rice bowl, burrito, salad, nachos, and loaded fries. All these options come with your choice of chicken or steak and grilled vegetables. Also there are our other sides you can add on as well with no extra charge.

IMG_20230607_122339679.jpg

What you see is my lunch, a rice bowl.I chose steak and grilled mushrooms, green peppers, and onions. I added black olives, tomatoes, mild salsa, shredded colby cheese, pinto beans, and sour cream drizzled over the top. It was more than enough to satisfy my hunger. I paired it with a medium unsweetened tea, my check out price was around $13.00.

Like I mentioned before I'm hear to show you some of the pictures that were hung on the walls and in some of the booths. All these photos were taken in the local area. Many of them were taken well over a hundred years ago. I found the collection to be very interesting and some even brought me back to that era in my mind.I would say there were about 40 or so pictures in total. I took as many as I could without drawing a lot of attention to myself.

IMG_20230607_123846988.jpg

IMG_20230607_124024308.jpg

IMG_20230607_121820693.jpg

IMG_20230607_121841925.jpg

These four pictures have a great meaning to me because I work at the current location, Offutt AFB, NE. The first picture is when the Strategic Air Command & Aerospace Museum was located on the base.Back in about 2002,the aircraft on display here were dismantled and shipped to other installations. I was part of the load teams that loaded these dismantled aircraft onto military aircraft and commercial flatbed trucks. Now the museum is located about 30 miles from here. Rest assured, you will see it in a future article from me.

The second photo taken in 1960 is the gate I enter everyday going to work. Today it is much larger and modernized. It's six seperate lanes coming into base and two lanes departing the base.

The third photo taken in 1950 is of Fort Crook Army Base. A lot of field area there, today it's filled with paved roads, flight line and numerous buildings. Also it is now an USAF base.

The last photo taken in 1908 is a visit from President Taft. This building still stands today and I see it very often because it located near the parade field where there is a walking and running track.

IMG_20230607_121858166.jpg

IMG_20230607_124040255.jpg

These two photos were taken in 1908. A larger tornado hit this area and caused quite a bit of damage. I don't know how many lives were lost but I can only imagine this tragedy shook this town back then. With the warnings and technology today tornadoes don't take many lives.We had a tornado a few years ago here and there were no fatalities.

IMG_20230607_124053465.jpg

IMG_20230607_123951940.jpg

IMG_20230607_123939736.jpg

The first photo was taken in 1900 and is of the First Presbyterian Church. The church still stands today. It is cool to see late 19th century transportation being used. The second photo was taken in 1880 and is the Bellevue Public School. Sadly this building is no longer standing. The last photo was taken in 1915 and is of Camp Brewster. A camp designed for young Christian women. Here we see early 20th century transportation, I just love old transportation. Camp Brewster was on land owned by the local YMCA. The land was sold awhile back and now the old camp building is a lodge that gets a lot of use such as a rental place for family reunions, weddings, and graduations.

IMG_20230607_121850348.jpg

Here we go the last photo I will share with you. This photo was taken in 1869 and is of the Bellevue Train Depot. The building is still standing today and it is a museum. I haven't visited here yet but I think I will check it out sometime.I just love transportation I guess working in the Logistics career field for almost 30 years might have something to do with it.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoyed my walk through these photos. Take care and be safe. Have a great rest of your week all.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now