Wednesday Walk At Tom Wallace Lake

tom_wallace_3.jpg

It's Wednesday right? Went for a bit of a jaunt today and took a few (hundred) photos while I out wandering. Guess that makes this #wednesdaywalk time!

tom_wallace_1.jpg

Out on the edge of Louisville is what the great sage Wikipedia calls the largest municipal urban forest in the United States, Jefferson Memorial Forest. Along with plenty of trees there's a couple lakes there and it was one of those, Tom Wallace Lake, that I headed for today.

tom_wallace_4.jpg

Hey look, I found Waldo!

It's kinda one stop shopping for impromptu adventures here, you can ride horses, hike, camp, fish, or grill out. (Sorry @dandays, bikes are only allowed as speedbumps here) Most of my previous visits have been focused on mixing open flames with dead animal but today I made a circuit of the lake and shot the place up.

tom_wallace_5.jpg

Today was the last of the decent (70F) weather we're likely to have for a bit so I wanted to make the most of it and see if I could catch some fall colors and some reflections before winter makes everything bleh.

tom_wallace_2.jpg

There were a good number of fallen trees sticking out of the lake so naturally I had to climb on them as much as possible. The photo above is one I took while doing that, you can kinda make out the trail behind the cattails.

tom_wallace_6.jpg

There were a couple guys fishing and a guy walking a couple dachshunds but aside from that I saw nobody. It was a nice bit of peace and quiet, you could almost pretend you were in the middle of nowhere. At least until the next jet flew over...

tom_wallace_8.jpg

Didn't fall used to start in September? Why do we still have leaves on the trees in the middle of November? Not that I'm complaining, now I can procrastinate later.

tom_wallace_7.jpg

Came across so many fun reflections while I was wandering, I'm looking forward to giving some the old B&W treatment soon.

tom_wallace_9.jpg

These last few are from the dam, somehow I'd never made it out onto it before. The trail kept to the edge of the lake until you got the the end of the dam and then paralleled it a little uphill through the woods on the far side.

tom_wallace_10.jpg

I may have to make an exception to my avoidance of the cold and come out here if we get a decent bit of snow sometime this winter.

tom_wallace_11.jpg

I'm starting to run out of Wednesday so I will leave you with one more photo and get to starting my countdown to the weekend.

tom_wallace_12.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center