ALONG THE OLD WALL OUTSIDE THE TOWN

I had to do some small repairs on my car today. Therefore I visited the usual repair shop not far from where I live, just outside my hometown, on the road that leads to the nearby village called Liznjan. I left the car in the yard with many old cars, some in good shape others demolished for spare parts, and went for a walk ...

img_3843_malo.jpg

... around that area which I rarely visit. Usually, I'm only driving through on my way to the port and beaches of Liznjan.

img_3830_malo.jpg

Liznjan isn't far, just a kilometer or two, and is very visible from this place.

img_3837_malo.jpg

The day was cloudy, but not cold ...

img_3833_malo.jpg

... and with almonds and some other trees starting to bloom ...

img_3834_malo.jpg

... there was a vague sensation of springtime in the air.

img_3831_malo.jpg

Soon I found this empty egg case produced by the praying mantis. The thing was attached to the stone and was hidden under that stone before someone or something changed its position. I passed by the egg case ...

(Enlargeable)

... and continued towards the large property called Libora. It was established in the first years of the 20th century by Austrian industrialist Paul Kupelwieser that had a major role in the development of the city of Pula and its surroundings. I didn't enter ...

img_3835_malo.jpg

... just continued walking along the outer side of the wall.

img_3838_malo.jpg

Some stretches were covered, and kind of decorated with a dense growth of ivy ...

img_3839_malo.jpg

... and many stones were embellished by lichens.

img_3840_malo.jpg

I find this white - yellow - orange - greenish combination especially decorative.

(Enlargeable)

About fifty meters further, someone left his heart on the wall. I took this photograph and then, some minutes later ...

img_3846_malo.jpg

... I came across more lichens.

img_3844_malo.jpg

These were different.

(Enlargeable)

Less exuberant, less colorful, but the pattern looked cool.

img_3850_malo.jpg

Quite surprisingly, I found a caterpillar on that lichen-covered stone.

img_3849_malo.jpg

The winter will definitively end very soon. Twenty or so meters further ...

img_3858_malo.jpg

... I reached the pretty large electrical substation.

(Enlargeable)

I knew that is here somewhere, but I have never seen it before.

img_3873_malo.jpg

It's a new addition to the infrastructure of this area ...

(Enlargeable)

... built a couple of years ago. Maybe five. Something like that.

img_3878_malo.jpg

The wall was on the other side of the road ...

img_3869_malo.jpg

.... and that helped me a lot. I climbed on the wall ...

img_3866_malo.jpg

... to take a better look at the stuff behind the fence.

(Enlargeable)

From that elevated position, I was able to leave the annoying fence out of the picture.

(Enlargeable)

While standing up there, I was also able to see the property behind the wall. The current owner is raising horses. These simple structures probably have something to do with that activity.

img_3864_malo.jpg

A beautiful tree was in bloom on the edge of the field.

img_3880_malo.jpg

Here you can see the old Parish Church of St. Martin in Liznjan behind all that new electricity-related stuff.

img_3868_malo.jpg

I never spent so much time near a place like this.

(Enlargeable)

When seen through the lens of the camera ...

img_3875_samomalo.jpg

... these industrial shapes were plenty of fun to explore.

(Enlargeable)

On the powerlines above the scene, I caught this mysterious thing.

(Enlargeable)

I mean, is probably a mundane thing for anyone educated in how the electricity is spread around, but for me ๐Ÿ˜€it was like - wow! Look that cool shit up there! What it could be!?

img_3876_malo.jpg

The road continues past the substation, along the long, old wall that surrounds the vast property.

img_3879_malo.jpg

It's part of the web of cycling routes around Medulin, my hometown. I walked only a hundred meters or so in that direction ...

(Enlargeable)

... and I found another hairy black caterpillar. After taking these shots ...

(Enlargeable)

... I walked back ...

img_3883_malo.jpg

... stopped by the same substation again ...

img_3860_malo.jpg

... took a few more slightly repetitive shots ...

img_3896_malo.jpg

... and then continued towards the repair shop where I left my car.

img_3894_malo.jpg

This fire hydrant was photographed across the road from the highly electrified area shown earlier in the post.

(Enlargeable)

I was slowly walking ...

img_3910_malo.jpg

... always near the wall ...

(Enlargeable)

... and then stopped again by these thick tentacles of ivy that looked like snakes ...

(Enlargeable)

... coming out of the wall.

(Enlargeable)

That stuff looked pretty cool.

img_3908_malo.jpg

A bit further I photographed another snake-like piece of ivy ...

img_3909_malo.jpg

... and some interesting stone that looked like some kind of sponge with many holes.

img_3913_malo.jpg

I passed again by the heart that you saw in the first part of the post.

(Enlargeable)

This narrow road that leads to a group of houses was photographed nearby.

img_3911_malo.jpg

And that's it ...

img_3912_malo.jpg

... soon I was in my car again. The car was ready, it was time to go home.

AS ALWAYS IN THESE WALKS ON HIVE, THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE MY WORK - THE END.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments