My newly discovered phobia: Hodophobia / Trip-a-phobia


image.png

It happened to me several times when I agreed to visit someone, then later somehow avoided it. I thought my introverted mind did not want me to leave the house. I can give hundreds of reasons not to go out.

The recent incident can be mentioned here in that respect. One of my University friends had 'Open Heart Surgery' at an early age. About a couple of months ago, he went abroad to be operated again. He has been telling me to visit him.

He lives in the next district of the same division. Which is approximately 60 kilometers away from the city I live in. Both train and bus services are available.

Although I knew his situation, but yet showed many absurd reasons not to go there. Which made him visit me around sometime in December last year.

He texted me on Wednesday to visit him the next Saturday. I told him I had class, but I could try. In that city, another one of my friends is currently staying. I called him in the hope that he might come to his home then when he moved to that city, I could tag along with him. Instead, he suggested I should come on Thursday and in the evening we can return back.

I told this to the other friend. He hesitated that it would be better for him if I went on Saturday or he would have to ask for leave at his office. Before confirming anything, he managed a day off. I was now confused about what should I do.

I went to sleep early that night, in the hope that I could wake up early and take the train at 6:45 a.m. from the station. But, I could not sleep. I felt nervous and anxious, and my heart started racing!

Not following the universal law of 'Never Google your symptoms', I did. That is when I came to know about what might be wrong with myself! Sure as an introvert I tend to avoid real-life interaction with people. This thing can also be a possibility!

I know I have acrophobia (the fear of heights) and Aquaphobia (the fear of water). Googling I found out, I might also have hodophobia which is sometimes called trip-a-phobia! I believe in Murphy's law that if anything can go wrong it will!

Upon further reading about the symptoms, I found out I had several of them! The anxiety was the thing that was not letting me sleep. I do not feel this much pressure when I am traveling with somebody (this is also included in handling the hodophobia, 'do not travel alone!'). I took anti-anxiety medicine and finally was able to sleep. Of course, I turned off the alarm, after all, I needed my full sleep and moreover, I was still hesitant about what to do in the morning.

Guess what, I woke up around 5:30 a.m., and my first thought was what I would do. I sometimes try to read signs of the Universe(in my suitable way)! There was heavy to moderate rain outside, and the sky was cloudy. I could not buy the train ticket the previous night, and this morning I again failed.

I was almost 99% sure I was not going. But after some time, I decided to treat hodophobia by forcing myself to take the trip! I had arachnophobia (Fear of Spiders) from which I recovered (or suppressed it deep) by forcing myself to let them walk on my hands. So, this time I followed a similar approach. After deciding to go, within five minutes I got dressed and left the house.

Reaching the train station, I was given another sign from the Universe! The train I wanted to travel faced an accident and will not be making any trips! I wanted to return to the comfort of my home but did not and went to the bus stand and hopped on a bus.

The day was enjoyable. I might write about that some other day. Here are some pictures of that day.


image.png

These two are my friends. The left one is the one who is ill. He is a Computer Engineer. On the left is another one who is an Intern doctor.


image.png

We three spend some time in nature. That rice field was amazing when the breeze passed over it.

Returning from there could be another strike for hodophobia and the Universe! As the train which I planned on returning was 2 hours late! So, I decided to take the bus. Although they told me to stay and return the next day. I did not listen to them and returned that night.


Taking the step I was able to enjoy the day and push my hodophobia back. Next time, I will have less anxiety.

Do you guys have any phobia? Have you got rid of any? If yes, then how? I would like to know.


This is my first post in this community. If I have made some mistake, if you could point me out, then I would be happy.

Maybe I will write something again here. Till then, bye! Have a nice life!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center