Lessons Learned the Hard Way

image.png
Source: Pixabay

There is a proverb that I recently read...

"Smooth seas do not make skillful sailors."

and if there was ever a quote that fit my life that would be pretty fitting.

I've had lots of things go sideways in my life. There have investments that have gone bad. There have been relationships that have gone sour. There have been circumstances that have been unforseen and unpleasant. So, when the Hive Learners prompt came up with "Blessings in Disguise" the question wasn't IF there were blessings in disguise but rather Which One to pick.

image.png

What event to choose

Where to start?

  • Young love that went horribly wrong?
  • Border guard that kept me away from my wife for 3 years?
  • A 7 year fixed investment that became frozen for 19 years?

I think I'll go with

A simple mistake on nothing almost cost me my University education and future.

A tiny mistake on a student loan application.

image.png

Student Loan

My family didn't have money to send me to University. I did work a full time job at minimum wage for a while after High School but I knew that it wouldn't pay my tuition and I knew my parents would try to help but also wouldn't be able to support me.

The answer was to apply for a Student Loan. Now the Student Loan application has changed a lot since I studied 30 years ago but one thing I had to do was fill out an Income statement to show my need for the loan.

The form I had to fill out would look very similar to the one below
(which is the current income tax form)

image.png

Now it may seem like a little thing but this is how they wanted the form filled.
image.png

This is how I filled out the form

image.png

I didn't make any money so I just put a dash into the amount field to show I made nothing.
image.png

Result

My Application was denied

I sent all the forms in on time and showing the correct need. I should have been approved but the application was denied. It seems that a dash is not a valid amount and without the $ 0.00 in the correct field the application was incomplete.

I was in trouble. Tuition fees are due. Room and Board fees are due. I don't have any money to pay for things and I'm in bad shape if I can't continue.

There was a resubmission process. I was able to find out what was wrong and correct it. However, the process would take at least a month to complete. I ate my pride and asked extended family for help until my student loan could be processed. I'm happy to say they were able to help out and in the end I was able to continue my studies and have a place to live.

For a little while I was convinced I would be forced to drop out

image.png

I learned a valuable lesson

Be very precise when dealing with bureaucrats


Up until that time I had assumed that people used common sense.

I had never had to deal with lawyers, government, or banks. However, having my future put in jeopardy because of a simple line instead of a 0 showed me that I should pay close attention to detail!

In the 30 years since then I've had to fill out legal papers, immigration papers, insurance papers, loan documents, and many many other formal paperwork.

That simple lesson about bureaucracy has served me well

It seemed life threatening at the time but in the end it worked out for my good. I'd never have been able to get a work Visa in the USA, get the VISA for my Wife and her Parents to come to Canada, to file insurance claims effectively without that lesson in my early University career.

I hate to say it but that simple lesson was likely as useful as some entire courses I took there.

image.png

Second Lesson

Family is important


When I was a young adult I thought I could do everything on my own. Why did I need my family?. Sure I loved them but I was going to be self sufficient and make it on my own.

Getting stuck by government officials taught me that sometimes circumstances were you just can't do it alone.

Another very important lesson from that time.

....and I'll leave it at that.

Thanks for reading.

And as always, appreciate getting comments :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center