Getting old isn't for sissies.

If you were to head over to Amazon you could find a book there written by Etta Clark called "Growing old aint for sissies" and while I haven't read the book I can pretty much guarantee that is true.

image.png

Source: Amazon


As I prepare for retirement I will wholeheartedly agree with that statement. Now I'm not about the pay the $65 they are asking for the book I can tell you my own story about trying to get ready for retirement.




The mental component


The biggest issue with trying to retire is wrapping my mind around the idea that I will no longer be employed. For so long I've thought of myself as "A Pharmacist" as that has been my job for decades. However, very soon I may have to say "I'm retired". That's a huge change! A lot of a person's identity is tied up in their profession, so what am I when I'm not working?

Then there is the fear of "What if the money runs out?". My mind tells me I am prepared but there is always the "What If's" and the uncertainty of how long will I live. Add in a dose of inflation and a dose of world instability and it makes me just want to keep on working.

But then there is the fact that both my Father and Grandmother died before the age of 60 am I'm quickly approaching the number. What if I don't retire and spend all of my life at work. Ugh, not too keen on that.




The time component


The other part of retirement is what to do with all that extra time! I'm down to 1-2 days a week and I find that unless I try really hard I'll waste an entire day doing very little useful. Wasting away watching anime is not a good use of my day. Sure, a little TV is fine but unless I'm careful my mental acuity will diminish. My body will waste away. I'll find myself lethargic and overweight unable to enjoy the retirement years! No thank you.

In that regard I'm making sure to get up early and get to the gym. Lift weights and do cardio. In addition to that making sure I keep my mind active by doing things like writing here in the Hive Learners is important.




Rekindling old friendships and trying to find ways to make new ones


But there is also a social aspect to getting older. For many years I've been so busy being a husband and father that I kind of lost track of friends and have had difficulty making new ones.

Finally the kids are off at college and my wife is busy with her career so I have time. However, reaching out to old friends to rekindle things after a lot of time is challenging. I'm doing just that though. I've found that they are also getting older and gone though a lot but its nice to remember old days and plan to make new memories. Still, its hard after so long to get up the nerve to reach out.




A new family dynamic, making a bucket list


But the other things about getting older is realizing that there are only so many years left. The realization that I should do things now before I no longer have the opportunity comes front and center.

I've wanted to live in the Philippines for decades. Now I'm finally ready to move next year...at least for a few months of the year. I've also wanted to live off grid in the wilderness for decades...and I'll likely follow that dream next April. Telling the boss I'm moving away. Telling my kids I'm not going to be making their lunches. Telling my wife I'll visit regularly (and have her visit me regularly too) are really very challenging.

Leaving the role of stay at home husband and father is tough. On the one hand I love them all and want to be with them. However, I also know that if I don't go now things will NEVER get done. My wife wants to go with me to Northern BC and Philippines when she retires in a few years...In that way its my time to prepare everything for US now rather than just rot at home waiting for her to retire and the kids to finish University.




That's been really tough/challenging


Change is never easy and making all those changes in just the span of one year? It has been daunting! But I really only have two choices. Stick with what is comfortable and never move ahead OR I can get off my butt and do things. Strike out into places I've never been and may not be comfortable with.

I think that path will ultimately make my retirement years far more interesting. Of course, I could be proven to be making a very poor choice...but in the end I'd rather try and fail than always wonder "What IF"?

..............

That means it has been a challenging year

But I wouldn't want it any other way.

Of course, if you have good advice or comments I'm always happy to hear it :)

Thanks for dropping by.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center