BALANCING WORK + STUDY || EVERY STUDENTS' DILEMMA

Designed using Canva

It's one thing to acquire a job; it's quite another to be able to manage your employment with your study. A choice always attempts to prioritize one over the other. I don't know about you, but my job is more important to me than my studies because there is no studying without the money I receive from my employment.

Aside from my activity on Hive, I don't have any other jobs. Not necessarily blogging, but other small projects I'm working on, such as the i.e. The Newbies Initiative, Hive Bootcamp. These activities need a significant amount of personal time, which is difficult to combine with studies.

It has been easy for me for a few months now because all schools in my country have been on strike for seven months. The government has failed to pay lecturers' school fees, and as a result, lecturers have refused to work.

In some ways, this has been a blessing in disguise because it has allowed me to devote more time to developing my tech profession and learning programming languages such as javaScript, C, and Python (still on course). This effect has also caused me to ponder what career I want to pursue after finishing my education as a Mechatronics Student.

Balancing Hive with everyday courses and preparing for tests and examinations was a lot of work for me well before the school strike. My Hive coworkers are always asking me how I juggle everything. How do I even conceive of articles to write or blog posts to publish?

untitled.gif

But, in reality, I've grown accustomed to writing solely when I feel like it. I don't like the notion that I have to postpone a lot of other things merely to stay on track with daily rewards. Although this is a bonus for me, I only do it when I have the time, and most of the time, I make the time in the midst of very busy schedules.

untitled.gif

Before joining hive, when I was at a polytechnic (college), I had always desired the possibility to work and earn money while studying. That was approximately 2016-2018 before I met hive, and it was a terrible financial time for me while I was in school. Those were difficult and trying years for me. I'm grateful to Hive for rescuing me.

ACTIVITIES I AM PRESENTLY ENGAGED IN

Aside from Hive activities, I am taking Cloud Engineering courses, learning Spanish on Duolingo (on a 71-day streak presently), and religious activities that take up most of my Wednesday evenings and weekends.

HOW DO I BALANCE THESE ACTIVITIES

Every morning when I wake up at 4 or 5 a.m., I spend about an hour learning Spanish on Duolingo. It's always the first thing I do in the morning because it's easy to overlook when other heavy, brain-tasking things come up. Then I spend the next few hours navigating through peakd, discord and whatsapp for messages and contacts to check up on.

untitled.gif

The majority of my day is spent studying my online course lessons or attempting to answer questions via Whatsapp. I receive that a lot because of the large number of newbies I've introduced to Hive.

As I previously stated, I write my articles whenever I am motivated or inspired to do so. I'm always having trouble drafting many posts to schedule for later. They are typically completed as inspiration strikes and published once completed.

I make an effort not to write hurriedly, so I usually have time to use the Canva tool to create my thumbnail. When I write an article, I sometimes start by creating the thumbnail, but more often than not, I do so immediately after I have finished writing the piece.



I wouldn't say I've properly balanced my studies and work, and I'm not sure how it will be if the strike is called off, because I'd have to combine physical school with online education while simultaneously working. I'm hoping it won't be too stressful for me.

untitled.gif

But, given that I've been on the chain for four years, I'd know just when to incorporate Hive into my daily routine. I can only say that Hive has become a part of me, and it's difficult to get through the day without checking in with Hive.


WHO IS STARSTRINGS01


image.png
Designed by @ grisvisa


Starstrings01, also known as Giftedhands, attends the Federal University of Agriculture in Abeokuta to study Mechatronics Engineering. He is a lover of the hive, a guitarist from Nigeria, and a student.

His ambition on Hive is to be more than just an ordinary blogger; he wants to be someone with a purpose. That's why he started the newbies initiative @newbies-hive to help guide and support newbies. Please follow the @newbies-hive curation trail by clicking here.

He tries to juggle education with being active on the chain, but his love and passion for Hive keep him on track..


All images are mine except indicated otherwise
All gifs are powered by Tenor

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3AJf6fuxkTxiKXRNCarffscTjF9JnBqLzj89NH5s1rKH2Cga4QvMPvvEcb4koTvuCHZXnviw8k7xAcqd9HsbFKjw6hj1Y72M87h86FHy9hno4Dmynf1K26XEe.png

IF YOU LOVE THIS POST, YOU CAN KINDLY SUPPORT IT WITH YOUR COMMENTS, REBLOG AND UPVOTE. IT WOULD BE MUCH APPRECIATED

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3AJf6fuxkTxiKXRNCarffscTjF9JnBqLzj89NH5s1rKH2Cga4QvMPvvEcb4koTvuCHZXnviw8k7xAcqd9HsbFKjw6hj1Y72M87h86FHy9hno4Dmynf1K26XEe.png

THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG 😇💕

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
41 Comments
Ecency