Miles & Memories: Capturing the Beauty and Stories of Accra.


image.png

Most times I like to think and say that I’ve been to a lot of places. It’s not that I’ve spent a long time at those places but then I find myself either spending a day or two at those places or I have passed through those places a couple of times.

When I was a child we used to travel a lot cause my father worked at a different place and that gave us the chance to be on the move and each time we were on vacations.

My most recent trip was a trip to navrongo for a hive related event. I would have loved to blog about it but then I didn’t spend a lot of time there as I was racing against time to get back to tamale on time so I could get to work. The other trip we made to Kumasi would have made a great travel blog but it was way shorter than the one we made to Navrongo. If I can remember correctly we went there and m Friday night and got to the place at Saturday dawn. By Sunday we were on our way back home.

So we were in and out of that place cause it was not a planned trip. So this leaves me with a December trip we made to Accra sometime ago. At that time I was still in the university and we were on vacations. My aunty like she always does suggested that we come spend the holidays at her place. Well, we love spending time at our auntie’s place so it was kind of a wish come true.

So it was a bus trip from tamale to Accra on a Thursday evening. We took an stc bus like we mostly do in the evening and we were there in the morning. Am not gonna, I am slowly loosing interest in travelling with STC when it comes to long journeys. Apart from that fact that they are slow( which I think is a good thing) their busses are slowly getting destroyed and it seems no one cares about the maintenance of those busses. It comes as no surprise since it’s a government institution. I know they’ll probably prefer buying new busses in years to come instead of maintaining the ones that they have .

So travelling by bus from tamale to Accra is about 12 hours but with STC you should expect to do that in about 14 hours. We go through tamale to techiman, they make a regular stop at Kintampo and then a regular maintenance stop at Kumasi where they have their station. At Kumasi the stop is longer as they have to check the bus and make sure it’s in good condition to continue the journey.


image.png

By the time they make a stop at Kumasi it means you’ve made about 6 hours of the journey (half of trip). So after the checks the journey continues.

So for the rest of the journey we don’t make a stop till we get to Linda Dor in Accra. For Linda Dor I am always looking up for us to make a stop there because of their snacks. Now matter how I feel I always tend to buy snacks at Linda Dor.

From there we made our way to Accra where the traffic takes up the 2 hours that I added to the 14 hours. Last time I told someone that when we get to Accra it’s better they make us just get down and start walking lol.

So we made it to our aunts house and yh it was a nice experience. We ended up having a long rest and in a few days time we went out. I don’t know which one we did first but then I think we visited the museum first.


image.png

For context sake, I’ve never been to a museum so going to the Accra museum excited me. We were not fortunate to get a tour guide as they thought it wasn’t important to take us through lol. Either way we paid and we were given access to go through the facility and then have some fun.


image.png

Well, a lot of the things there weren’t new to me as they were about our culture which we already know or learnt about in school.


image.png

So we spent sometime there and the next trip was one we made in the night. Since it was in December it was Christmas time and Accra wasn’t left out with the Christmas feeling. We went around Accra to see the beautiful Christmas lights.


image.png


image.png

According to our aunty it was a lovely time to come out in the night as most of the streets will be decorated with nice lights and people will be allowed to take pictures with loved ones. Most of the round a-bouts in the city were decorated with beautiful lights to complement the Christmas celebrations.


image.png


image.png

We did take some pictures at some of the famous spots and then we went home. On other days we went out and had fun with my cousins and aunt.


image.png

It was a nice experience and I wouldn’t mind doing it again. Just that next time I wouldn’t want the wahala of taking a 12 hour bus trip to Accra when I can take a 1 hour flight to Accra. Hopefully the next time that I have to go there I’ll have enough money to take me on a round trip to Accra.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center