The Urban vs. Rural Debate

If you know me, you’d probably know I’m a hodophile. I’ve been to so many places you can’t even begin to imagine, from big cities to very remove villages. This year, the plan was to take things slow but when I have I ever taken things slow? The past few weeks have been very busy for me as I’ve been on the road a lot. Running from from one city to another and one village to another.

A few days ago, I was in a rural community very far from the whole world( my description of how I see the place) and I couldn’t stop thinking how the people here are able to live normal lives. I felt I had been trapped there cos the journey from the closest town was about 4 hours ride and the road there held nothing but smaller villages with a few people. The town itself wasn’t really small as it was a bit of a busy town, but I just felt it was too secluded from the rest of Ghana.

Growing up in the capital town of Ghana, I had no idea what a village looked like. I only knew the busy city life and how things were there. All my family members I know of are in the same city with us so unlike others who would have to travel to the village to see an aunty or other family members, all I needed to do was occupy the front seat of my dads car and we are there in a few minutes.

I don’t really know if during that time I had ever thought of being in a rural area. My mom had told me stories from her travel experiences and I wanted to experience that life so badly sometimes but I wouldn’t say I was madly in need of it. But, life always has its way of doing things. A few years down the line, and I would say I’ve experienced more than I can think of. Back in the university, we had this field trip program where students will be taken to villages to conduct a research in the town.

I was so happy about that field trip but guys, it was something else. Even our journey there wasn’t a joke as driver got lost. We spent our first night in a school classroom, both boys and girls and it wasn’t until a few days later the community finally found a decent place for us. Also, there was no electricity in the community and no public transportation. We had to walk about an hour to a different community where some of our mates were to charge our gadgets for our research. To even make a call, you’d literally have to be on a tree in the middle of the road.😂 Man, it was something else but aside all these I would say it was really fun.

It was more like a time away from the whole world. I got to experience life from other peoples perspective and that gave me a new view to this whole life thing. I thought I didn’t have it all but honestly, what I have is someone’s prayer. Since then, I’ve been to several other rural communities and I just keep understanding and learning more. With the kind of life I’m living and want to live, I really know that rural communities are not for me.

Even though they hold their own advantages of living there, I just don’t think it’s for me. I love busy places with more opportunities. I like to be on the move everyday, doing this and that and I also love to have fun. I’m yet to see Kwesi Arthur organise a concert in a village.😂 In as much as I love the whole idea of rural communities in a way due to the peace and quiet they come with, I’d go in for the busy and bustling cities where you literally have no peace of mind because I don’t want peace, I want problems!😂


all images belong to me.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center