A recent travel experience.

The last time I travelled was actually on the 8th of this month and that was when I was coming to school. I actually travelled from Apata in Ibadan to Iwo and that lasted for about 2 hours. But then my journey was a rough one.

First of all,I wanted to resume to school on Wednesday but then of my friends messaged me on Saturday and said our supervisor for our I.T programme asked us to resume on Monday so he can sign our log books. Due to this, on Monday before going to school I had to visit the market to buy the necessary things I needed for my fourth year in school. From farm tools to shoes and even stockings.

Now,after buying everything I needed, we were on our way to where I would board a cab straight to school. But then along the line,we were caught up in a massive traffic. To worsen it all, it was raining heavily and the issue is that my mum is a bit old and she has eye problem, so it wasn't easy for her to drive properly because she couldn't see clearly but then i was there to direct her. We stayed in the traffic for hours and eventually we got to the bus stop very late at night at about 7:00pm.

When we got to the bus stop , we asked the cab drivers how much would take me straight to the hostel. Normall, I was suppose to drop at a particular junction and take a bike straight to school. But for my own safety my mum told the driver to take me directly to my school.

The price they called was very high. We were asked to pay about 7,000naira for a trip that is normally 2,000naira to my destination before going to school.

They were complaining that the price of petrol has skyrocketed and that has made the amout they are collecting to be high. I didn’t want to agree at some point because i felt that price was too much but then we had no choice since it was late at night and i have to get to school on time.

After series of begging and explanations, they later agreed for us to pay 6,000naira. That wasn't all, I had to wait for hours for just one passenger to arrive before the bus was filled up and I don't like traveling in the night because the country isn't that safe. Also,the road to get to my school is very bad and nothing to write home about.

As we started the trip the driver had to visit the filling station to buy petrol which was very annoying because i felt he should have done that before we started the trip.

Asides that, there was just so much noise from a woman who claimed she is from Togo and another man who had taken alot of dry gin and was just spitting nonsense. They were just getting me annoyed and i was fuming inside. But then the most important and first thing on my mind, was to get to school safely because we passed beside the bush severally, and they was just some time on the trip were we didn't even see one car coming towards us or even behind us and everywhere was dark.

At some point,it was getting scary and I was just praying that nothing happened during the journey. The road had alot of potholes as well, so the driver had to stop at some point before he continued driving. I got to school by 8:30pm for the very first time in the four years I have spent in the school. All in all,it was a really stressful and annoying journey and a one i never wish to experience ever again. But then i am grateful i made it to school safely.

Thanks for reading.

image is from Meta Ai

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center