My empowerment strategy

Empowerment is all about rendering help and support to people around you. It's all about lifting others and seeing them succeed. Empowering people is not about showing off, but about sincerity and love.

Many times we get empowered for free, and there are times when these empowerment might cost us some amount, this is just to know the value of what we are getting empowered. I remembered an empowerment I attended recently, it was an empowerment for bakers and some other professionals too.

As a backer I was happy to be among my fellow bakers too. The program was held for about three days or even more and it was fun-filled. On the final day we were to fill out some forms so as to get the financial aspect of the empowerment.

This is where the problem lies, the empowerment wasn’t really what was initially proposed for us. The fund of about 100,000 naira to be distributed to everyone present turned to 30,000 naira. And how did they want people to benefit from this empowerment?

As a baker i don't want to remain a baker but rather become a chef in addition, this made me go for some training on catering and events planning too. I never regretted my decision. No knowledge is wasted. Though it might be so tough in the beginning, what you have already accomplished is yours forever.

During my days in the school those that were closer to me, my roommates and my friends were always there with me. Most of the time they show interest in what I do. But some of them find it difficult to go for the training itself. As a student, we all know the kind of struggle we are passing through. I decided to take them on free classes then those who are fully interested would then pay some subsidised amount to finish up their training.

That was the little way I could empower the people around me while I was still a student.

My family empowerment.

Fews years ago while I was done with school and service, I had to start up something. It isn’t easy in this country but we still have to strive and have it in mind that we must do better. With the knowledge I have, I knew I could get to any level I want. All I needed was the capital to start up and the support to keep going.

My dad was of great support morally, he was like a guide to me. Though not fully financially, his motivations and encouragements are priceless.

My brothers were the backbone to my empowerment. They had to support my business financially. Most times they are the ones I still have to sell my products to first. Business is business, there is no family In business, but that doesn’t stop them from empowering me.

My own way of empowering

I have big dreams of getting better at what I do. And I have in mind that at some point when I grow and get stabilized . I would do well to make it easier for people around me to see the love in my profession.

Acquiring the knowledge would not be free, but when they are done acquiring the knowledge I realize they are capable of running the business on their own. Then I am willing to empower as many of them as I could. That's one of my biggest dreams I hope to accomplish.

Join the Aprilinleo daily prompt Here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center