A dream worth gold.

I have a dream that I believe to be the oldest I have ever wished for. It's a dream that has accompanied me since childhood, but despite being so important, I can't remember exactly when it first emerged.

When I found out that today's theme for the weekly contest at Hive Learners would be "The Most Expensive Thing," this grand goal was the first thing that came to mind, because I'm constantly thinking about it. But what is this dream all about, after all?


There are more reasons than I could describe here that explain why I have such a strong desire to visit Norway, but the main one is that I FEEL like I need to. Norway is a place that has always attracted me magically; its mountains, fjords, and centuries-old culture have been part of my imagination for as long as I can remember. My wish is to spend at least fifteen days exploring every landscape there, feeling what each one will awaken in my heart. However, in addition to this profound and ethereal aspect that draws me to Norway, there is also a great admiration for its economic organization, emphasis on education, and safety. Not to mention that Norway is an extremely prosperous country and has the second-highest HDI in the world, second only to Switzerland. Yes, if you didn't know, Norway is a very wealthy country that has a tremendous concern for sustainability and actually implements measures to produce clean and risk-free energy for society and nature. An example of this is that today, in 2023, Norway already has 400,000 electric cars, making it the country with the highest number of electric cars per capita.

Norway is beautiful, admirable, undoubtedly the place I most want to visit in my life... But Norway is expensive. And that's the reason that makes this dream very challenging. I have done dozens of research over the years to try to organize and make a trip to Norway feasible, but it's so expensive to go there, so incredibly expensive, that I end up feeling sad because it's beyond my means. Just to give you an idea, my husband and I together earn a little more than three times the minimum wage in Brazil, and that amount would only cover the one-way ticket for one person to Norway. Well, I wouldn't go without my husband and daughter. So I would have to save up a lot of money just to be able to get there, to be more specific, I would have to save up at least eight times the minimum wage just to buy the one-way tickets for me and my family. An expensive dream, isn't it? I know. And I haven't even mentioned the expenses for accommodation, transportation, food, and of course, return tickets.


Made on Canva

Everything in Norway is expensive, in fact, everything for those earning in Brazilian Real is expensive. And it really saddens me because in Brazil, we don't know what purchasing power is in our own country, imagine in a country where the currency and local economy are much stronger? The only affordable thing we could do in Norway would be to visit parks, mountains, and fjords, which is enough for me, but how can I make it there considering my reality? How can I sustain myself there, and not just myself, but my family as well? It would require rivers of money.

For many people, traveling to a country they like is a goal that can be achieved in a year. For me, it's a dream. But even though it's still a dream far from my reality, I haven't given up on it, and I believe that one day... one day, I will be there. And when that day comes, for sure, I will share it with all of you.


Portuguese

Eu tenho um sonho que acredito ser o mais antigo que eu já tenha desejado. É um sonho que me acompanha desde criança, mas que embora seja tão importante, não consigo me lembrar quando exatamente ele surgiu.

Quando eu descobri que o tema de hoje do concurso semanal da Hive Learners seria ‘’The Most Expensive Thing’’, esse grande objetivo foi a primeira coisa que me veio a cabeça, pelo fato de eu estar frequentemente pensando sobre ele. Mas, afinal, do que se trata esse sonho tão important?


Existem mais motivos do que eu conseguiria descrever aqui que expliquem o porque tenho tanta vontade de conhecer a Noruega, mas, o principal deles, é o de que eu SINTO que preciso. A Noruega é um lugar que sempre me atraiu magicamente; suas montanhas, fiordes e cultura secular, fazem parte do meu imaginário por mais tempo do que eu consigo me lembrar. A minha vontade é de passar no mínimo quinze dias conhecendo cada paisagem daquelas, sentindo o que cada uma despertará em meu coração. Porém, além dessa questão profunda e etéria que me atrai pra Noruega, existe também uma grande admiração por sua organização econômica, sua valorização a educação, e sua segurança. Sem contar que a Noruega é um país extremamente próspero e tem o segundo maior IDH do mundo, atrás apenas da Suiça. Sim, se você não sabia, a Noruega é um país riquíssimo, que tem uma imensa preocupação com sustentabilidade e que de fato implementa medidas para produzir energia limpa e sem riscos para a sociedade e natureza. Um exemplo disso é que hoje, em 2023, a Noruega já possui 400 mil carros elétricos, e isso a faz ser o pais que mais possui carro elétrico por abitante.

A Noruega é linda, é admirável, é sem dúvida o lugar que eu mais quero conhecer na vida… Mas a Noruega é cara. E eis o motivo que torna esse sonho muito difícil. Eu já fiz dezenas de pesquisas ao longo dos anos pra tentar me organizar e viabilizar uma viagem para a Noruega, mas é tão caro ir para lá, mas tão caro, que eu acabo me sentindo triste porque é fora da minha realidade. Só para vocês terem ideia, eu e meu esposo juntos, recebemos um pouco mais do que 3 salários mínimos brasileiros, esse valor que recebemos só daria pra pagar uma passagem de ida de uma pessoa para Noruega. E bem, eu não iria sem meu esposo e filha. Então teria que juntar realmente muito dinheiro só para poder chegar lá, sendo mais especifica, eu teria que juntar no mínimo 8 salários mínimos só para comprar as passagens de ida pra mim e minha família. Um sonho caro, não é mesmo? Eu sei. E eu ainda nem falei dos gastos com estadia, tranporte, alimentação, e claro, passagens de volta.


Made on Canva

Tudo na Noruega é caro, na verdade, tudo pra quem ganha em Real, é caro. E isso me entristece pra caramba, porque no Brasil não sabemos o que é poder de compra no nosso próprio país, imaginem num país em que a moeda e a economia local é muito mais forte? A única coisa barata que conseguiriamos fazer na Noruega seria visitar parques, montanhas e fiordes, o que pra mim é o suficiente, mas como fazer pra chegar lá dianta da minha realidade? Como fazer pra me manter lá, e não só a mim, mas como minha família? Seria preciso rios de dinheiro.

Para muitos viajar para um país que se gosta é um objetivo que pode ser resolvido em um ano. Para mim, é um sonho. Mas, embora seja um sonho ainda distante da minha realidade, eu não desisti dele e acredito que um dia… Um dia estarei lá. E quando esse dia chegar, com toda certeza, compartilharei com vocês.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now