SURVIVAL FOR THE FITTEST

Having a career is something that we all crave for. In our today's world survival is only for the fittest. We need to look at the situation of things before considering whether we should have just one career of multiple career.


source

I live in Nigeria and I don't know about you. In my country even with multiple career today, it is very very hard for people to survive the heart. Alot of families live from hand to mount now that is if they can even get what to put in their mouth after all the days struggle. I know that for one to have multiple career comes with alot of disadvantages, but I will still prefer to go with it and bear the consequences.

First let us take it one at a time.

JUST ONE CAREER
If we talk about having just one career, we mean that, that individual have only one source of income. Should I clap for that person? No. Instead I will scold him or her. Why do I want to scold that person? Sincerely speaking if you ask me I will say that just having a single career will do you no good in this generation where we buy almost everything in the market very expensive.

Considering a teacher who is been paid #50,000 per month. What will that one do for him or her? Maybe he also have two or three kids with his wife making them all four in the house. That shows that #50,000 will be managed only for one week in our present Nigeria. Can you see why I don't support anyone with just one career. I know that such person will have rest when he or she returns from work as against someone who does two or three things to survive. But what is that today? We rest when we make money. If you don't have money to take care of your family, then you already know that there will be no rest for you and your family.


source

Secondly, let's also look at someone having multiple career.
Take for example one who works on a school that receives salary at the end of the month. Works online to make additional income. Sales cold minerals at home whenever he or she comes back from school. How do you think that such person will lack money is his or her life. There will always be money to pay bills, solve some problem and save for the future too.
Yes I know that such person will not have enough rest, but I also believe that when there is enough money and there is different businesses running for such person in different places, then there can be rest at that moment. One needs to plant a seed in order to harvest tomorrow.

WHY DO I PREFER MULTIPLE CAREER?
The major reason I would rather go for multiple career is because no matter what you make at the end of the month with just a single career it would not be enough to solve half of the problem for the month. But if there is different ways where money comes into the family, then we would have less or no problem at all in the family.
Like myself. I sell honey from shop to shop. I operate a computer business center which has been there for almost twenty years now. I also go for home lessons for kids who may need help at home. Though I just stopped the home lessons last year so that I can concentrate in my studies. Lastly, I am a content creator. I love to create content not just because of the pleasure of doing it, but also because of the money that comes through that also.

This is how I have been running my own life. Having money come into my hands from different sources.

This post was inspired by the hive learners community contest for week 118, edition 3.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center