Making friends with Cape Towns wildlife

IMG_5479.jpg

In the middle of the busy-bustling city centre of Cape Town, there is a tiny pocket of pure paradise called "Company's Garden." When we entered the gardens gate I instantly felt a sense of pure peace and a feeling that we had just stepped out of the city and into a new world, a new paradise!

Todays adventure I was with my lovely sister-in-law, before going in, we bought a baggie of nuts that some sweet lady was selling at the gate... no these nuts were not a snack for us but a gift for the fury friends we were about to meet!

IMG_5450.jpg

The minute we started walking in along the path, we were greeted with a group of brave little squirrels, I think they could smell the nuts!

IMG_5456.jpg
This guy was fascinated and not at all afraid of us, came right up and snatched the nut from my sisters hand before scattering off and nibbling on his treat.

Had a couple ducks follow us around for a bit as well.

IMG_5472.jpg

IMG_5473.jpg

I became absolutely obsessed with watching squirrels eat their nuts, it was so much fun to watch. I loved so much that they were all quite friendly as well and let me come quite close to them to get some great photos!

IMG_5476.jpg

IMG_5477.jpg

IMG_5484.jpg

I was obviously having the most fun capturing the squirrels through my lens but if you are not as obsessed as I am (lol) there are some other cool things to do in the gardens, not only is it one of the most relaxing places to pop into but there are some pretty interesting historical buildings, statues and structures. I did not get any photos of these historical item though, as I was far more focussed on the squirrels adorable feet!!

There is also a restaurant nestled in the greenery where you can pop in to grab a bite to eat in the peace and quiet!

IMG_5482.jpg

IMG_5496.jpg

IMG_5500.jpg

IMG_5501.jpg

I hope you enjoyed all of these sweet squirrel portraits though and I hope that you one day visit this gorgeous place in the city, get yourself a bag of nuts and go make some cute judge-free friends!

I should also probably add a small disclaimer that even though they are super cute and loved eating straight out of our hands, these furry friends are still wild animals and should still be treated as such! You do not want to get bitten, please be careful!

IMG_5510.jpg

My Post.png

All photographs are copyrighted to the author

Photography instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/ajchampz.photography/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center