#STB Coffee Prompt Week 73 | The work

portada trabajo1.jpg


On this day we come to participate in the new biweekly call made by our dear coffee goddesses. To answer the question I would like to share a story about a habit that left me perplexed. I have called this experience...

The work

On this day we come to participate in the new biweekly call made by our dear coffee goddesses. To answer the question about the experience with too much caffeine, I will share with you a personal story that I have called...

The work

I was studying at the university, I remember that I was in the third semester of a technological career in systems. With a lot of effort and sacrifices, I had reached that point. Many times I had the idea of giving up and continuing with my work, but there was something that kept me going, something that would not let me give up and that made me get up every time fatigue and failure were present.

But despite everything, there I was, in front of the cannon, living one day at a time and giving my all. The semester was almost over and I was almost ready to go on vacation, to enjoy the rest I deserved after such a great effort. I could already feel the pleasure of sleeping late, eating at the right hours, spending time with my family, going for walks, and dancing.

My mind danced between thoughts of fun and relaxation. My colleagues were also on the same wavelength as I was. Their voices were ringing out with the activities they would be doing after the end of the semester. There was an atmosphere of joy and enthusiasm for the long-awaited vacation. Until that morning...

"Good morning, young people. This morning I am going to distribute notes and verify your deficiencies so that you can make the proper recovery. Whoever fails to pass the make-up, will lose the semester." The cold expression together with the professor's strong voice sent a shiver down our spine.

Everyone's eyes became worried and nervous. The room fell silent as the professor called out grades one by one. Many came out with faces of disappointment and a sadness that overwhelmed them, every time I saw that pitiful expression it made my stomach turn in a cyclical and stabbing pain.

At that moment, I heard my name and my legs wanted to give out on me. I went to the professor's office, like a calf to the slaughter, sat down and the professor with that parsimonious and intimidating look, was saying, “Alright, I'm going to check your notes and see if you owe me anything.”

“Ok, teacher.” I was trying to sound as calm as possible.

portada trabajo 3.jpg

The minutes seemed eternal and anxiety was gnawing at my head, as the professor reviewed my notes. His eyes were gliding across the screen, then he blurted out a few words, “Alright, you are up to date, except for this unfinished paper, you are missing adding images to the text, without this very essential I cannot approve your paper and you may have to do a reinforcement activity during vacation so you don't lose the semester. The other option is that you give me the paper with the images by tomorrow and you will be up to date."

I looked at the brown eyes and without any feeling of the professor, while I wondered if I would be able to correct the work, there were too many images and it would be a wasteful process, but I had no choice but to accept the deal. I nodded my head and as I left the university I set off for home.

I had to make the most of every minute of the afternoon and evening. I had to finish the work at all costs, I got home ate quickly, and started working as fast as I could. The letters moved through my eyes restlessly and images were appended to each page. Night came and I was still typing. Sleep began to overtake me, I drifted in and out of microsleep.

I paused and went to the kitchen to get my good friend, coffee. I made a large amount of coffee, for the whole night, I started to drink the dark delicious, while I kept typing, I swore I could see flames coming out of my fingers.

Early morning came and I was still working, one cup after another, caffeine was entering my body and I was starting to feel some discomfort, nervousness, headache, nausea, and anxiety, I was getting dehydrated. My body was reaching its limits. It was one of the worst nights of my life.

I couldn't sleep, so I took a bath and left for the university, I didn't want to eat breakfast I felt bad, but I had to hand in my work. I got to the classroom and talked to the professor, he gave me the paper and then one of my best friends saw me very badly. I told him everything and he said I was intoxicated with caffeine.

We left the university and he told me to drink a lot of water and eat bananas and apples. With that, I would eliminate the excess caffeine little by little. I started to feel fine and my mother would pass me water and fruit every so often.

After all that horrible experience, the good thing was that I passed the semester and then I could rest during the vacations, but after that, I never drank so much coffee again, I went through what I went through. Haha...

portada trabajo 2.jpg


bannerhive.jpg


All images without link are property of Yenny Aldazora
Edited by Rincón Poético.


The text of this post was originally translated from Spanish to English with the translator DeepL
Original content

memebrete.png


Visit our social networks
you.png insta.pngface.pngspo.png
¡Thanks for you reading!

bannerhive.jpg

@rinconpoetico7

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center