Mother Day Contest: I love you mommy

Greetings to all the members of this warm community, my congratulations to all the Mothers, with this post I want to pay tribute to the memory of my mommy, who was a faithful coffee lover until the last days of her life..


I must begin by saying that since I can remember the day begins in my house with the usual Coladita de Café as they say in Cuba, (when we prepare the coffee to drink), since I was a child that aroma that coffee gives off was the indicator that it was time to go to breakfast, I write and my palate is able to feel that flavor of coffee with milk that only she knew how to make and that her grandchildren also sighed for her to prepare it for them, no matter how hard my sister and I tried, it was never the same as mommy's. However, by dint of practice we were able to get it to be the same. Although by dint of practice we managed to get our children to accept it, the secret is in the vanilla and sugar you add to the coffee with milk.


My mother could not miss her cup of Coffee in the mornings because she literally had a headache, she also loved to drink coffee after every meal, if she didn't she felt that the meal was incomplete.


When we received a visitor at home, I always offered him coffee, because I told us that this act was synonymous with courtesy and friendship.

My family has a coffee producing farm and my mother enjoyed the whole process of picking, drying and roasting until she filled the coffee sacks, which she did at the age of 91.


I close my eyes and I see my mother, my grandmother and my aunts sitting with their coffee cups in their hands, talking and the children sitting on the stairs that led from the kitchen to the courtyard drinking coffee water, which was prepared with the coffee grounds, that is, after the strong coffee was made.

At that time the coffee was poured into a wool strainer and the first coffee was extracted, then more water was added and it was the clear coffee that the children drank with bread at my grandmother's house, which was where the whole family gathered.

I keep those images in my memory, as if it were today it makes me smile, because I understand that I have a deep-rooted love for coffee, unfortunately I do not have photos to show because at that time there was no record of these everyday moments, simple but that mean a lot because they mark us forever.

I love you mommy and you are always with me in every coffee to toast friendship.


I finish by thanking you for the initiative proposed this week, for the possibility to relive these beautiful memories, I thank all those who have taken the time to read me. The images are my property. Use the translator DeepLTranslate

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center