About Crafts, Coffee, and Tea at Artes & Guarapos || The Coffee Shop Prompt 70

Hey, coffee lovers!

I hope you're having a nice weekend! Ours is a long weekend, as tomorrow is a national holiday.

Prompt 72 is about crafts that they sell at a local coffee shop; it's given me the chance to show you around our coffee area at my workplace (second job) 🌷

IMG_20240622_134938.jpg
image.png

The coffee shop inside the Medical Unit where I work belongs to Artes y Guarapos (something like "arts and beverages" or "arts and concoctions"). I'll show you 😊

image.png

As we have a coffee maker inside our office, we seldom buy coffee from the coffee shop, but they do have a young barista who knows how to do her job. On the left, you can see a sample of the coffee art she made for a latte ordered by a patient a couple of weeks ago.

Below, you can see me next to the owner; I'm holding what I order every weekend: a cold turmeric & ginger infusion (magic for my joints).

image.png

I usually order this infusion but seldom have it outside my office because I'm always working if I'm at the Unit. They add fresh lemon and if you like some honey in it, they add that too.

image.png

I took a picture before I left yesterday so I could show it to you. Here I sip my coffee and tea. I'm rarely out of here. The reception/coffee area is where patients and costumers are; they are offered a varied menu which includes healthy foods and drinks besides regular stuff like sandwiches and snacks. We have our own common area with a coffee maker, a little fridge, a microwave oven, etc...

image.png

image.png

Local Art & Crafts

They sell handicrafted baskets, purses, hats, etc., made of natural fiber (mostly juncus and vetiver as far as I know).

Unidad Medico Docente Las Garzas promotes ecology and sustainability, so they have a handicraft department as part of their business
image.png
image.png

The owner of the coffee shop buys the items from the Handicrafts Department of the Medical Unit and complements them with her own designs.

image.png

She is a practicing lawyer--and a good one, as far as I've seen--. A few years ago she started a craft and food business; then she registered the name of this "venture" and today she's still working very hard to get it off the ground.

image.png
image.png

Here, a view of the reception area, where the coffee shop is.

When I read what prompt 72 was about, I told the owner of the coffee shop and she was happy to have her photos taken. We're related: she's my sister's sister in law and a friend.

image.png

Take a look!

I'll show you my favorite item at the end.

Basketry

(natural materials + decorations of synthetic materials)

image.png

image.png

Hats

image.png

Glasses made of reused bottles

image.png

Dremel Art (on reused bottles)

image.png

image.png

image.png

They also sell some imitation jewelry; I'm not sure how much of this can be considered "local art" or "crafts," butI'm showing you anyway; perhaps you have a better eye than I do.

image.png
image.png
image.png

Because of my allergies, I can't use imitation jewelry, and because of my lack of fortune, I can't use real jewelry 🤣 So I just look at these items and think that I may buy something for a gift someday.

My favorite items here are their glasses. This one caught my eye yesterday before I came home. The message reads, "Together, we can handle it" or "Together, we can do anything." This means that we are stronger if we have the support of others; it's a romantic idea that is true many times, for our peace of mind and happiness.

IMG_20240622_124407.jpg

Even though I liked the glass, I didn't buy it. I bought chocolate if that counts, hehe. It's local chocolate, and for me, it's delicious edible art 😋

The hands behind this art belong to Petra; she's such a charming lady with talented hands. Someday I'll have some coffee with her and show you our photo. Meanwhile, have a nice week ahead!


image.png

image.png

All text and images are my own. I have taken the pictures with my Redmi 9T cell phone. And if any GIFs here, I've used GIPHY for all them.

image.png

Thank you so much for your visit :)

MARLYN BANNER_5 (1).png

Banner by @andresromero 🖤

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center