Roaming For Roasts: The Sweetest Coffee



clh8slqnw0094aysz21nzdbp0_roamingforroasts3.webp
clh8sltfz008n6xsz0xkse9hg_roamingforroasts2.webp
clh8sm7jy00958csz6vj742jl_roamingforroasts.webp
clh8smbze008e8pszfkml12eh_roamingforroast4.webp

Goodbye is the hardest part of wandering and though I am used to it now, it’s still a bittersweet feeling when I have to part ways with the nicest people I met in my journey.

It was time for me to get back to Thailand, make my way to eventually back home a bit before I can go back to Laos. It was difficult to part ways with King, the barista I met and is one of the nicest people during my trip in Laos. She always makes me beautiful latte art and tries her hardest to make it special. It was such a nice time in Laos that I got to wake up and drink coffee with beautiful latte art for the last three weeks. Thanks to her and the other staff, I got to pick up laotian and had the privilege to drink delicious and beautiful coffee.

While drinking my morning coffee, I was always bothering her with my silly questions about words in laotian. As a falang, they find it intriguing that I am learning their language. That being said, they were all really nice about it and that’s why I picked it up faster.

Not to mention, during the time I spent there, she inspired me to write a novel or a travelog under the title of 30 Days of Cappuccino. Once I roamed enough, I definitely would start drafting them and just polishing some of the experiences I encountered along the way. There were many stories that I wasn’t sharing here just because. But I am making sure to include them in my 30 Days of Cappuccino.

What I appreciate the most was when I had a bad day and looked sulky in the morning, King would make an extra special drink. As you can see above, it was a mocha and she decorated the drink with a tree and birds. It definitely made me feel better as I got to drink delicious coffee and a beautiful one.

Eventually, all the staff there, sort of knew what I liked as well. Cappuccino Hon(hot) (during the day) and Olieng House brew Yen(cold) during the evening. Though people say that I have to go to Vang Vieng, Luang Prabak, and Thakhek Loop, I was trapped with the amazing coffee. I don’t need much in life, just a good coffee, work, ngoen (money) 😉, and occasionally chattery and learning something new.

In that cafe, the coffee knowledge was also passed on to the patrons. Laotians can be curious about their coffee. They want to know what Colombian coffee tastes like, the notes, and the way to serve it. They were always enthusiastic about it and the staff were happily chatting with them explaining it all. It was not such a common interaction I saw in cafes back home nor in thailand. Perhaps I haven’t been seeing one yet but I just love the dynamic in that cafe where everyone can openly ask about coffee and interact with the barista without feeling awkward. When they don’t know, they are not afraid saying, “ I don’t know”.

On my last day there, King made me a pancake that paired so well with the mocha that I was drinking. I normally don’t drink too sweet coffee but that day, everything was sweet and It was something that really made my day and made it difficult for me to leave Laos. I definitely hope to come back soon to their cafe and Laos. She also left me some notes in laotian in my diary. I told her that it’s gonna be a reminder for me that I have to go back to Laos very soon!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center