Morning ritual with coffee

Greetings!


Recently, I've adapted to having very early morning coffee, I mean, it's the first thing I do before getting serious with the day. My brother, who has been living with me, has been giving me a weird side-eye because he finds it awkward that I get up from bed and go straight to my gas cooker to make hot water to make coffee.

Then, I sit in my chair and, according to him, disturb his peace with the sound of the spoon clashing against the mug. Well, he can only give me that look from the bed but can't scold me because I'm older than him. Lol.

This routine started in November of last year, as far as I can remember. One of the things that triggered it is that I usually suffer from heavy sneezing and a little bit of a runny nose each time I wake up. So, taking something hot and allowing the vapour to blow into my nostrils is somehow a remedy that keeps my body warm and fit. In no time, my body balances out, and the sneezing subsides. I'm not saying this is a confirmed remedy to cure sneezing, but it works for me. I find it a better remedy than taking catarrh pills in the morning, which are 99% sleeping pills. And the best thing is that coffee, instead of making someone feel dizzy like those catarrh pills, keeps the body alert and ready for daily work. It's more of an energizing drink.

For me, early morning means around 5:30 am to 6:00 am, and by that time, I haven't even brushed my teeth(pardon me if this is a bad habit).
I don't rush to work very early in the morning like most people do, so at that time, I'm still enjoying my "me-time." This extends until about 7:40 am before I go out to attend to my workplace. So, I stay at my table, most often reading articles or drafting them while I sip my coffee, allowing the vapour to seep through my nose. Just like I said, my brother would still be in bed, wrapped up in a blanket, and it's unfortunate for him because he doesn't drink coffee. He didn’t live with us when we were growing up; he lived with an aunt(now late), and they were never into coffee.

I never consider coffee as food, but somehow, it keeps my stomach filled to the extent that I don't feel hungry for the next hour or so. Although it sustains me for up to two hours, that early morning coffee sip is just for my body warmth to help me chase away sneezing and catarrh, which I manage to stay without food until around 9:00 am-9:30 am when I have breakfast. By then, my brother had already made breakfast, either by cooking something new or warming up what we had the previous day. By that time, he’s already gone to work. As for me, my workplace is within my compound, so I can stroll back to my house to have my 'real' breakfast.

Thanks for reading.

This is my response to the #spillthebeans contest

| All photos are mine |

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments