Your own coffee is the solution

Hi Hive Lovers

For a coffee addict, a few cups of coffee a day are normal and a necessity. It becomes something that must be fulfilled and must be there at any time, namely when the desire to enjoy coffee appears.

Aceh, Indonesia, as a region that produces superior Arabica coffee varieties and #AcehGayoCoffee, which is one of the best organic coffees in the world, has made coffee culture throughout this region a lifestyle.

People who live in the Aceh region or visitors who come to Aceh can see the coffee shops, which are always full of coffee connoisseurs. Generally, they gather with their friends or colleagues to enjoy their coffee in these coffee shops.

A lifestyle or a primary need

Some people do make coffee a lifestyle, but for me, it's not just a lifestyle. Coffee has become a primary need for me. I can drink 5–6 glasses a day, as I have said in a post here..

I feel something is "missing" if I haven't enjoyed a cup of coffee for a certain amount of time. At least the desire to drink coffee always appears every 3–4 hours; the amount will increase if I'm in an area with cold weather or during the rainy season. I'm not alone; some of my colleagues and team members are also experiencing the same thing as me.

A problem

If the desire to enjoy a cup of coffee appears and occurs during working hours, it often becomes a problem. One has to leave the office to enjoy their coffee at nearby coffee shops. That is a big problem for me as the person entrusted to manage them.

In my office (with the 50 people I have to manage), if several people have to step out of the office to enjoy their coffee, it means time wasted. It can be assumed that at least they will hang out in a coffee shop for an average of 30 minutes. If multiplied by the number of people who go out to enjoy their coffee, there will be a waste of working hours. They get paid for the hours they work, but not for hanging out and enjoying their coffee.

A dilemma

Enjoying a cup of coffee is a person's need that must be accommodated, even if it's during working hours and related to their work productivity. Had become a dilemma. On the one hand, they have to be able to enjoy their coffee (including me in it), and on the other hand, they have to work within the duration of their working hours.

Differences of opinion on this issue (not to mention a conflict) were once a heated discussion for the first month of the first semester, and then because I had asked the equipment department and finance department to solve this problem within 1 month (too long, actually), I wanted to give them some leeway so they could come up with a solution on their own.

The solution that became their choice in mid-July was to buy it at a coffee shop in a packaged way to enjoy it at our office. I didn't think it was the best solution, but I didn't tell them (I just kept it for myself).

The solution

Behind the scenes, I approached people whom I knew would agree with me (of course because they are coffee addicts too), and I tried to submit suggestions for budgeting for the purchase of the coffee machine itself. The coffee machine must be an office asset that will be used together as common property. All of those I spoke to totally agreed, and these are the results:

Since August 1st, 2023, we have had our own coffee machine, and anyone can enjoy their coffee according to their own taste and measure of coffee, and they can make their own coffee whenever they want.

It's been more than a week that we've been enjoying it together, and no one else comes out of the office to hang out and enjoy their coffee at the coffee shop during their working hours.

About Me

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center