Vanishing Connections

I pushed open the creaky door of the coffee shop with a sense of anticipation that had become as reliable as the sunrise. The smell of fresh coffee and the faint scents of cinnamon and vanilla wafting from the bakery next door greeted me at every visit.

I glanced around the shop to find myself alone at this early hour, an anomaly for such a popular establishment. As I made my way toward the counter, I noticed a familiar barista, Sarah, behind the espresso machine glancing in my direction. It wasn't unusual that she would notice me. Every morning, her warm, familiar smile usually welcomes me. She is the barista who has poured my cup of solace for as long as I can remember.
image.png
Source
But today, as I approached the counter, her expression changed. Her eyes held the hint that she didn't recognize me anymore.

"Good morning, Sarah," I said with a smile.

"Good morning, Ms.," she said. "How are you today?"

Her voice was sweet like honey, but with a hint of sass that I loved about her. She smiled with questioning eyes, revealing her white set of teeth.

“The usual?” I said glancing over at her with a look of familiarity on my face.

“That’s funny, but welcome in! What can I get for you?”

I did not answer. Sarah's eyes widened slightly staring with a confused expression.

I was flustered by her statement, and I felt same the confusion because I was a regular and my orders were often the same every morning. She knew me well enough to know what I ordered even without asking.

She looked up at me puzzled again.

"Please brew me my usual", I said.

Sarah stood there frozen for a moment.

"I'm really sorry ma'am, but you are mistaken, You are yet to place your order."
image.png
Source
"Didn't I tell you that I wanted my usual?" I pleaded, my face flushed red with embarrassment.

"Yes, you did, ma'am, but I don't know what you normally order."

I stood there speechless as Sarah's words sank into me.

"What?" I exclaimed as I attempted to process what she had said.

"You don't know?" I repeated, "But you know me!"

Sarah looked down at the floor and shook her head slowly.

"No, I don't know you," she said sadly. "You are not a lady I've served before."

My mind raced quickly through all the possible reasons why she would say that. I thought maybe I was dreaming or I lost my mind.

"I have been patronizing this coffee shop for years?" I demanded, my eyes still glued to hers. "Why don't you remember me?"

"Why are you acting so crazy?" Sarah asked. "Please, go home."

I was now very worried, but I was also getting worked up. I needed to make sure Sarah remembered me and I had to think on my toes.

"Listen, Sarah, I need you to listen to me carefully."

"I am not crazy, nor am I mistaken.

I know you, and I am not leaving until I clarify this misunderstanding."

Sarah bit her lip and then looked up at me with sad eyes. I stood up from my stool and grabbed her shoulder.

"Why are you doing this?" I demanded, shaking her arm so hard that tears formed in her eyes. "Is this some kind of joke?"

I took a deep breath before saying more.

"Don't you remember me? Don't you think I deserve an explanation?"

Sarah shook her head, her expression changing from sad to angry. Then I remembered I was a part of their loyalty program. And this was the only way I could make Sarah remember me.

"Please, ma'am, tell me your favorite latte let me brew for you."

I was relieved that Sarah didn't seem to be mad anymore, but I was still feeling confused. Through the Loyalty programs, I politely asked Sarah to track my preferences and purchasing history.
image.png
Source
"Do you remember how many times you sold me the same drink?" I said, pointing to the board.

I could see the sudden realization in her eyes. And I knew I had her.

"Three hundred and twenty-one," she whispered with a stunned expression.

"That's right."

Sarah nodded slowly while looking at me with wide eyes.

"My name is Maddie, and I have always been your customer."

Sarah started to shake her head and pleaded with her eyes for forgiveness.

"I am really sorry, Maddie," she said. "I have a lot going on at the moment."

"I know it sounds crazy, but please, accept my apology."

Sarah looked at me with teary eyes and nodded.

"Just try to forgive me, Maddie," she said, "and I will make it up to you. I promise."

Sarah poured my favorite espresso for me with an apologizing gaze. I walked away feeling a little lighter than before. I felt like I had won the lottery, but I was still puzzled.

Why did she not remember me? Was it the change in my appearance?

I was glad that everything was over.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments