Seeking drumming independence


I know I normally do drumming videos on a Monday, but I have to fit in what I can. For the last couple of weeks I have been working on another Drumeo course. This one is by El Estepario Siberiano. He has been lighting up the drumming world with his amazing videos. He can play more with one hand than most of can with two whilst playing multiple things with his feet. He does some neat stick tricks too.

The course is called 30 Day Independence and is about getting your limbs working in new ways. I have heard some say that it should be interdependence as they still have to coordinate. Given what he can play I was not sure what level the course would be, but he builds it up gradually and you find yourself doing new things. In this video I go through some of the levels of the rhythm from the first week. It starts with alternating the bass drum and high hat then adds more. It uses the floor tom, but I swap to the ride cymbal at the end for variety. He does emphasise moving the pattern around the kit.

I have been mostly playing this on my Roland electronic kit, but it is fun on the acoustic one too. They feel distinctly different.

The course has two more weeks to run and I will try to stick with it. I ought to be doing the student collaboration video too, but I just have not found time to work on it yet. I may have a look at the weekend.

We have a few drummers on Hive, so seek them out if you want to see how this stuff is really done. I still consider myself a beginner, but I feel I am making progress.

Rock on!


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center