Monday Drum Day: Going Psycho

Another fun week of drumming. I am enjoying the Drumeo lessons and have been watching other stuff on there such as their history of electronic drums. My own new drums may be here fairly soon. I just had an email today saying they were queued up for packing.

I have been doing some lessons around the single stroke roll. This is the most basic 'rudiment' where you are just alternating hands, but getting it clean and even takes time. They have another 30 day challenge where you aim to improve your speed whilst keeping up for 1, 2, 3 or 4 minutes. I have already done better, going from 90 to 125bpm for a minute, but that may be about my limit for now.

I recorded a song for the latest @radioliquorice show. My set starts 22 minutes in. Other musicians here can submit tunes for the next one.

I had been thinking I need to play more songs to develop my skills. Drumeo has thousands of backing track with full tablature. They are graded and I picked one of the easier ones. Psycho Killer by Talking Heads is most pure 4/4, but with a few details to mix it up. I missed some of those and got little lost near the end where it speeds up (or feels like it does). I can feel I was not perfectly on the beat at times. I had only played it through twice before recording this. I will aim to do a fresh cover each week to post in this community.

I was going to post this on 3speak, but the site is playing up right now and I had put it on YT anyway so I could post it in the Drumeo forums. We each have a thread there to log our progress. People are very supportive there. I have a peakd link in my signature, so maybe some will have a look.

Rock one!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center