Monday Drum Day: Beating the Beat

Every month there is a collaboration on the Drumeo drumming school. I have done a fair few of these, but do not always get around to it. They tend to require a fair bit of practice to manage a decent performance of whatever song has been picked. This month it was We Got The Beat by The Go-Go's. In theory this is a fairly simple drum part, but the speed makes it challenging. There is a rapid bass drum part that I could manage at slower tempos, but not at full speed. I saw that other people had used the floor tom instead, so I opted for that method.

I wanted to play this on my Tama kit. Although I have had it a while I had not really played it at proper volume before. I have to wait until I am alone at home. We do not have close neighbours who might complain. Then I needed to be able to hear the backing track. I tried my AKG headphones, but they did not block enough outside noise. My Drumeo in-ears did a better job and I did not even need to have the track at full volume. I do have issues with the fit in my ears. Maybe mine are just an odd shape.

I had several attempts at the song and decided this one would have to do. It took me a little while to settle into the song. I used my Zoom H4 to record it. I will have to look at better options for microphones as the bass drum is hard to hear. It may just have too many cushions in it.

This was a real challenge for me, but fun. I hope that the next song is a little slower. Meanwhile I need to work on some other lessons.

Here is the band playing the song live. I really appreciate how hard drummers work now.

We have a fair few drummers on Hive now. They are welcome to use the community I created. I do not mind if they cross-post elsewhere.

Rock on!

The man behind: @tenkminnows: Helping good Hivers level up

@proofofbrian: A bot that checks for tag typos

#BritList: A monthly list of Hivers in the UK

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center