Monday Drumday: Filling in


I have been getting on with some lessons on Drumeo lately. Previously I did a 30 day course by Domino Santantonio where you played along with her for 10 minutes each day as she added in more parts of the song each time.

There are now a couple of 10 day lessons by her and the first is on fills. These are the little fiddly bits you throw in, usually where a song moves between sections. In this case the fills are relatively simple, but keeping it up for 10 minutes is a bit of an endurance test. At the end they gave you the backing track for the song at full speed. You actually play it three times in ten minutes, but I just recorded one.

This was a first take. I can hear I drifted off the beat a little at times and I messed up a couple of the feeds, but I knew where the sections started and I ended at the right time. This is the sort of thing I need to practice more. It is all very well having lots of tricks, but if you cannot just play a beat in time with the music then you are failing as a drummer.

I am playing my Roladn TD-07 drums. I had the track playing on my tablet that connects to the drums via Bluetooth. Recording was with guvcview and editing in Kdenlive, both on Ubuntu Studio Linux. I have to tweak it a bit to get the sound in sync with the video.

You can see some of my guitar pick collection in the corner of the screen.

I welcome more drum content in the Drumming community. You can cross-post from other communities if you like, as long as it is relevant.

Rock on!


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center