Manual Random Number Generators

This is my entry for the Proof of Brain Photo Contest - NUMBERS, which is hosted by @friendlymoose. The rules and other entries can be found here.

The title for this photo is Manual Random Number Generators, aka dice! This was one of my first sets of gaming dice. Fondly used for tabletop RPG games such as Pathfinder and Dungeons and Dragons.

dice_set_numbers_02.png
Manual Random Number Generators The battle is about numbers, or is it?

This photo was a bit of fun, having the miniatures that we use to represent characters on the maps, next to the dice. Poor them, their 'life' often revolves around what numbers the dice show. That, and of course, whatever crazy plans the players dream up.

dice_set_numbers.png
My favourite dice set! Can you tell I like the colours blue and green?

The dice in the center is a twenty-sided die, or d20, and is probably the one used the most in the Pathfinder gaming system. When your character uses a skill or makes an attack, the d20 is usually used to determine if your character was successful or not. Thus adding a layer of 'randomness' to the outcomes of actions.

It's been a while since I picked up my camera and went out of my way to get some cool photos. Not sure if these qualify as cool, but they were still fun to stage and take. Until the wind came up and decided to roll the dice for me by making the cloth underneath airborne!

Credits

  • Photos were taken by me, using Nikon d3200, Nikkor 18-55mm lens. Outdoor natural light.
  • Miniatures belong to and were painted by my husband. Don't ask me how he manages such awesome detail 😅😂
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency