Cosplay Journey: Lute Second Week


Lute

Greetings All

Here is a short update on where I am with my Lute mask. I have completed eight layers on both balloons, as this was the general thickness that was suggested. Both balloons are surprisingly heavy, so we'll see how it goes when it comes to wearing them. The reason there are two is in case I mess something up.


With the way the horns have to fit, I may have to design some kind of socket to slide them in, but I'll have to think about it.

What remains if the body of the helmet is cutting the back open to fit it like a mask. One or both eyes need to be cut out, undecided at this point, and the mouth. I will also need to find some kind of mesh to add to these so they can obscure my eyes and can be coloured. More to think about.


The first layer on one horn is complete. There are some points that I will need to build up the paper mache to make it look more rounded, but I don't want to use too many layers here as I don't want the horns heavier than the helmet.


The second horn has me quite frustrated at the moment. The problem is that I don't have an object to hold the horn while I work and the heat makes the paper mache "glue" to dry faster than I can mold it. I've taken a few days off of the project, so I don't throw it away in frustration.

All in all, the project is coming along nicely except for a few hiccups here and there, I am still enjoying the costume. The idea for this week is to finish the final horn, figure out a way to build up the roundness, and start marking the sections that need to be cut from the helmet. I will also need to figure out how the horns will attach!

See you all next week to see how far I get!

Reader's List
@weone, @merenludick, @clairemobey, @therneau, @blitzzzz, @pravesho, @joetunex, @captainquack22, @irisworld, @braaiboy, @sketchygamerguy, @fuego-oscuro, @felt.buzz, @dibblers.dabs, @beeber, @brittandjosie, @tamacvet, @alonicus, @joetunex, @zakludick , @pixelhuntersam, @zakludick

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center