Eye, Charlie


Once upon a time I went to visit Charlie and discovered that his right eye was swollen shut. An eye is not something you want to lose when you are part of the food chain. An infection is not something you want to have so close to your brain when you are a wild bird without medical benefits.

I left for a month long road trip. I didn't think I would ever see Charlie again.

When I came back, Charlie was still alive. His eye was open, but completely clouded over.
Blind.
He could still play kibble-catch, though.

Over time the cloudiness has reduced, but Charlie still has to rely on his left eye to check his surroundings, supervise the baby, watch for trespassers, predators, cars, dogs, cats, rude humans, and so on.

Sometimes, when Charlie is feeling generous, he will come very close to me, blind side on my side, good eye looking out.

Little love notes.

DSC_9587.JPG

DSC_9587 1.JPG


DSC_9570.JPG

DSC_9570 1.JPG


DSC_9588.JPG

DSC_9588 1.JPG


DSC_9591.JPG

DSC_9591 1.JPG

Charlie is father to Hopper, Bravely, and Moose, husband to Kaydee, and somehow related to Luna but not sure to what extent.


CrowTube Channel
Crowstagram
NFT Crowroom
A percentage of this post's rewards goes back to support the community.
All the stuff (pictures, words, etc.) I put in this post and any of my other posts is mine (unless otherwise stated) and can't be used by anyone else unless I say it's ok.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center