Lighthouse (Acrylic on Canvas)

Hi there! Today I have finished my painting of a lighthouse. I do not know where I got this seascape but it is in my mind. I use acrylic on canvas as usual. This painting is not big with size at 30 x 40 centimeters. Hope you enjoy it!

7a90fc1386524c0c1543.jpg

I often travel to the beach and seascapes are always what I keen on watching and enjoying. The feeling standing in front of the sea and smell of salty air is so great to me. I often call it Vitamin SEA.
I like the wavy sea rather than calming sea because it is the time I can see the power of nature. Sometimes I wonder that is my wavy mind? The dark color is what I choose to make it deep and mysterious. However, no matter how strong the waves are, seagulls are enjoying their free life on the lighthouse. They never mind the wavy life, so I wish I could have a careless life like them. But I heard somewhere "God does not give us what we want, he gives us what we need." Therefore, I always appreciate what I have had so far.
Here are some photos of my process:

bedc875629dae284bbcb.jpg
I draw sketch on canvas with pencil. The lighthouse is a little bit high but I fix it later on next steps

08bc91d82857e309ba46.jpg
I block stages by midlight so that I can highlight or lowlight later. I use orange and green for the peninsula.

20211210_104932.jpg
I add green and yellow for highlight on peninsula. Beside, I add more orange to that mix in order to highlight the black mossy rocks.

20211210_112602.jpg
Some highlight is added by white to reflect the sun direction and make them look in shape and contrast.

20211210_122247.jpg
I use fan brush to paint white wave and foam. Finally, I finalize it with the lighthouse and seagulls. I lower the white tone of white and red on the lighthouse to make it shady from sun direction.

7a90fc1386524c0c1543.jpg

Hope you guys enjoy my painting and my share of feeling toward this seascape. I also have another post of my previous paintings on PEAKD, you can come over them:
Series of Lakes
River Flow
Sunset on a Lake
A corner of Hoi An
Thank you for reading and have a nice day!

@tungphong

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center