10-Kilo Pumpkin 🤎 a Birthday and a Special Flourless Cake

Greetings my dears 💖 At home we are in the middle of pumpkin season, and this year the harvest has been a complete success. On Monday, September 23, my mom had a birthday, so I wanted to do something special to celebrate. 🎃 That very day, I harvested a giant pumpkin weighing more than 10 kilos, an impressive thing! I thought of making her a cold cake, but with an important detail: without flour, because she cannot eat flour. So I improvised a healthy and delicious dessert with the ingredients I had on hand: unflavored gelatin, pumpkin, vanilla, brown sugar, milk, and an egg.

Un saludo mis queridos 💖 En casa estamos en plena temporada de auyamas, y este año la cosecha ha sido todo un éxito. El lunes 23 de septiembre, mi mamá cumplió años, así que quise hacer algo especial para celebrarlo. 🎃 Justo ese día, coseché una auyama gigante de más de 10 kilos, ¡una cosa impresionante! Se me ocurrió hacerle una torta fría, pero con un detalle importante: sin harina, porque ella no puede comer harinas. Así que improvisé un postre saludable y delicioso con los ingredientes que tenía a mano: gelatina sin sabor, auyama, vainilla, panela de papelón, leche y un huevo.

21221.png

The preparation was quite a process, but I loved every moment of it. First, I cut up some of the pumpkin and boiled it until it was really soft. When it was ready, I let it cool a bit and made a puree. I love working with pumpkin because it has such a vibrant color and a super soft texture! To that puree, I added a little vanilla, cinnamon to taste, and the panela de papelón, which gives it that sweet and natural touch that we like so much at home. Instead of using liquid milk, I opted for powdered milk, but without adding water, so that the mixture wouldn't be so liquid and would have more body.

La preparación fue todo un proceso, pero me encantó cada momento. Primero corté un poco de la auyama y la herví hasta que estuvo bien blandita. Cuando ya estaba lista, la dejé enfriar un poco y la hice puré, ¡me encanta trabajar con auyama porque tiene ese color tan vibrante y una textura súper suave! A ese puré le añadí un poco de vainilla, canela al gusto, y la panela de papelón, que le da ese toque dulce y natural que tanto nos gusta en casa. En lugar de usar leche líquida, opté por leche en polvo, pero sin añadir agua, para que la mezcla no quedara tan líquida y tuviera más cuerpo.

131313.png

After mixing everything well, I left it on the stove over low heat for about 40 minutes, stirring occasionally so it wouldn't stick. While that was happening, I prepared a sugar syrup that I later turned into caramel by adding a touch of powdered milk. I like the caramel to have that flavor contrast with the sweetness of the pumpkin. On the other hand, I hydrated the unflavored gelatin with a little water and, without wasting time, I added the egg, beating quickly to prevent lumps from forming. Once everything was ready, I poured that mixture into the pumpkin cream, let it boil a little while longer while stirring carefully, and then placed it in different molds.

Después de mezclar todo bien, lo dejé en la cocina a fuego lento por unos 40 minutos, removiendo de vez en cuando para que no se pegara. Mientras eso sucedía, preparé un melado de papelón que luego convertí en caramelo añadiéndole un toque de leche en polvo. Me gusta que el caramelo tenga ese contraste de sabor con el dulzor de la auyama. Por otro lado, hidraté la gelatina sin sabor con un poquito de agua y, sin perder tiempo, le añadí el huevo, batiendo rápidamente para evitar que se formaran grumos. Una vez que todo estaba listo, vertí esa mezcla en la crema de auyama, la dejé hervir un rato más mientras removía con cuidado, y luego la coloqué en diferentes moldes.

14141.png

The hardest part was waiting. I let the mixture cool a little before putting it in the fridge. I knew the dessert would be delicious, but I had to wait for everything to set properly. The next day, very early, my mom was the first to try it before leaving for work. She woke up to the surprise of her cold cake already ready, with a creamy texture and a delicious flavor that, in addition to being a treat for her palate, was much healthier for her.

La parte más difícil fue esperar. Dejé que la mezcla se enfriara un poco antes de meterla en la nevera. Sabía que el postre estaría delicioso, pero había que esperar a que todo cuajara bien. Al día siguiente, bien tempranito, mi mamá fue la primera en probarlo antes de irse al trabajo. Se despertó con la sorpresa de su torta fría ya lista, con una textura cremosa y un sabor delicioso que, además de ser un regalo para su paladar, era mucho más sano para ella.

155115.png

I felt so satisfied that I was able to give her a treat on her special day without compromising her health, and also using fresh and natural ingredients from our own harvest. Pumpkin is wonderful, not only for its versatility, but because it is perfect for creating recipes that take care of us. I think I will make this cake on more occasions, because seeing my mom happy with something I prepared with so much love is priceless.

Me sentí tan satisfecha de haber podido darle un gusto en su día especial sin comprometer su salud, y además usando ingredientes frescos y naturales de nuestra propia cosecha. La auyama es una maravilla, no solo por su versatilidad, sino porque es perfecta para crear recetas que cuidan de nosotros. Creo que repetiré esta torta en más ocasiones, porque ver a mi mamá feliz con algo que preparé con tanto cariño no tiene precio.

11717.png

Thank you for reading and watching this amazing recipe. Blessings!

Gracias por leerme y observar esta increíble receta ¡Bendiciones!
image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now