😁 Let me show you the 🌈 vibrant shophouses 📿 of the 🌃 Bugis area 🌇

Hello Hivers!

After visiting the Majid Sultan (also known as the Sultan Mosque) and about to go home, I noticed that there are still areas of Bugis that seem to be less crowded but are still nice places to check out. These are the shophouses that were converted to commercial establishments. There's a variety of uses for each of the shophouses. Most of them are restaurants while some are stores, hardware, fashion shops, and offices.

Walking along these alleys gives me a feeling of excitement as I check every shophouse there is in this area. The main thing I noticed with the architecture is the traditional ornamental designs on the front of the building. They are decorated to look like embroidery or a piece of sculpture.

Among the shophouses in this area, this first photo is my favorite. Aside from the intricate design, I was also amazed by the lighting that they did to accentuate the ornamental designs of the walls, windows, and even the under the roof. It's also visible from afar, which is why I was hooked by it, and made me want to take a photo of it.

IMG_0455.jpg

Another feature of these shophouses that is consistent along the alleys is the archways. They may come in different shapes and sizes but they serve the same purpose, that is to provide shade while walking along the shophouses.

IMG_0450.jpg

There are areas of Bugis that are meant for entertainment. I saw a few bars and lounges like this. The World Music along Aliwal street.

IMG_0451.jpg

There are plenty of restaurants that offer Indian cuisine. It's inviting because I can smell the savory dishes and aromatic spice in the air as I pass by these shops.

IMG_0453.jpg

Warning! Don't climb!

I'm not sure why would someone climb this metal structure. I'd rather sit under it 😀

IMG_0454.jpg

The night quickly changes after dawn.

IMG_0452.jpg

This arcade may be narrow but it's the one that looks classy.

IMG_0456.jpg

A tattoo shop next to a Japanese restaurant, I think that makes sense.

IMG_0457.jpg

I also found a shop that sells classy shoes, they look so pretty and traditional.

IMG_0460.jpg

Some accessories too 😍

IMG_0461.jpg

I found it weird to have a mural of shophouses on the plain wall of the shophouses. It doesn't matter because it's one of the popular spots here as many of the tourists take photos next to it.

IMG_0464.jpg

What an awesome name for a shop, Aladdin's Jewels. 🤩

IMG_0465.jpg

A Chinese-style decors along the Middle-Eastern group of shops?

IMG_0466.jpg

And more shops of textiles and carpets. They are so beautiful.

IMG_0467.jpg

Like a mini carnival at the small park beside the intersection of streets.

IMG_0468.jpg

One of the amazing sights and smells is a line of Indian-Muslim restaurants. Too bad, I'm already full.

IMG_0469.jpg

It's so lively, I bet that it's a good experience to eat here.

IMG_0470.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this quick tour of the Bugis area, happy weekend Hivers!


Curamax Footer.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center