Impressions from the Marktkirche Wiesbaden



clfti8enu004c7zsz2ldecmo8_MK1.webp
The Marktkirche next to the Townhall (Rathaus)
clfti8ewj00390iszemkiakcn_MK2.webp
Door entrances.
clfti8hqf003h50sze8m9b41j_MK3.webp
Close-up views of the Marktkirche
clfti8hl3003b5dsz6mwj1nqz_MK4.webp
Inside views of the Marktkirche
clfti8k7c003z6xszfnp1dhiv_MK5.webp
Inside the church
clfti8kiq003q3ksz164x6c4n_MK6.webp
Climbing the church tower.
clfti8mtw003s67sz123b77l2_MK7.webp
Views of Wiesbaden
clfti8n1q004g8dsz7399etyt_MK8.webp
View toward St.Elizabeth's Church (Russian Orthodox Church)
clfti8pxz003t2gsz0td2dce5_MK9.webp
Views of the towers & church bells
clfti8q4x00467asz1zhd1w71_MK10.webp
Panoramic.

Any visit to Wiesbaden would not be complete without a visit to the Marktkirche. The Marktkirche is in the center of town next to the town hall and is the tallest building in Wiesbaden. From the signs that I read, it is a church from the Romantic era in Germany. Looking at it, it is very impressive with its many towers and you can also climb up it for a small donation.

I had a look at some of the doorways and archways that looked very impressive before trying to capture some of the towers. The building is very impressive and I noticed that the church is still active and has regular services and concerts.

Stepping inside, the interior has been very well restored and sadly we couldn't go right up to the altar, so could only take some photos from a distance. I then decided to climb the stairs to get some great views over Wiesbaden. As we got higher I was getting more nervous as I am not so keen on hights.

It was a windy day so it would not be suitable to let young children run up on the roof. It was pretty scarey for me being so high and reminded me of the climb I made in the Cathédrale Notre-Dame in Strasbourg where I was very scared to death when climbing the narrow tower.

Once on the roof, I had some great views of Wiesbaden and the surrounding area. Other visitors mentioned that we could see the St. Elilzabeth's church in the distance which was recognisable by it's shiny dome. I also tried to capture some photos of the impressive Marktkirche towers before making a panoramic photo of the view.

Thanks for viewing.

All photos are my own.

mypathtofire divider.jpg

Let's connect : mypathtofire


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now