We went to the Oddities and Curiosities Expo in Columbus, OH



405opf2al31rfc04_IMG_8706.JPG
405opf19l31rf751_IMG_8691.JPG
405opfol31rh3gj_IMG_8717.JPG
405opf2al31rh4oa_IMG_8716.JPG
405opfhl31rfd7g_IMG_8705.JPG
405opf12l31rh49v_IMG_8712.JPG
405opf12l31rfcw6_IMG_8703.JPG
405opf1ol31rfcku_IMG_8709.JPG
405opfvl31rh4xl_IMG_8714.JPG
405opfvl31rkczx_IMG_8719.JPG
405opf12l31rlfgj_IMG_8745.JPG
405opf1zl31rk2or_IMG_8721.JPG
405opfhl31rlb6y_IMG_8744.JPG

A few weeks back I took another road trip with @flowerbaby. We headed up towards Columbus, Ohio to the Ohio State Fairgrounds. Why? To experience The Oddities & Curiosities Expo of course. This took place on Saturday, April 30, 2022. I'm not usually the type to feel the need to go to an arts and crafts show like this, but my girl was curious to see what it was all about. Their marketing was pretty good, so I do see why she wanted to go.

When arrived that Saturday afternoon, we were shocked to find out that there were way more people there than we expected. This place was totally packed and there must have been nearly a thousand cars in the gigantic fairgrounds parking lot. We eventually found a place to park, which for some reason cost extra on top of our tickets. Then we had a walk to the main attractions, much like the long walk when going to an amusement park. There were all sorts of quirky people walking around and we were definitely not the only people with loads of tattoos all over our skin.

The place was organized very well, but that did not negate the fact that there were just way too many people. I do find them in crowds, but @flowerbaby hates them with a passion. I don't mind parting the sea of people, but if I hadn't been there I'm pretty sure she would have just left due to frustration.

To describe what was at the expo... There were basically just dozens of vendors with their own personal shops. Creative people were selling all sorts of weird things. Taxidermy, merch, sculptures, artwork, and even some shows to watch at the busy stage. There was of course food too, but nothing more than unhealthy carnival foods.

All of the stuff for sale seemed rather pointless to purchase to me. In fact, neither of us bought a thing while we were at this. I did see some things that caught my eye though. The little animal figures with baby heads were the funniest thing to me. You can see what I mean in the photo of the two baby-headed turtles fucking. I also really liked the tribal mask shop that I found, although I didn't photograph that.

Overall we had a pretty good time at the Expo and spent well over an hour there. We both agreed that we didn't feel the need to ever go again though. Afterward, we explored some more of Columbus. We hit Easton and a few other places. We had to get some food at Tropical Smoothie Cafe, one of our favorite little smoothie shops. Funny story about that, all of the workers were for some reason Indian with heavy accents. The guy who took my order misunderstood my name and then when they started yelling out my order upon completion, I realized I was now going by DELTA instead of DALTON.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now