Dedicated to you, who have always supported me and I will always carry you in my heart, Grandma. - [ENG-ITA]

Yesterday was March 8th, International Women's Day, and I wanted to dedicate a post to a loved one who is no longer with us. Although I was busy yesterday and couldn't write it then, I want to write it today because it shouldn't take a special occasion to talk about someone who was important in our lives. Every day is a good day to talk about love and remember those who we hold dear.


Ieri è stato l'8 Marzo, la festa delle donne e avrei voluto dedicare un post a una persona amata, che oggi non c'è più, ma sebbene ieri sono stato molto occupato e non ho potuto, lo farò oggi, perchè non deve essere una data o un evento che ci fa parlare di una persona che è o che è stata importante nella nostra vita, ogni giorno è buono per parlare d'amore e ricordare un affetto.

Yesterday, I didn't have many opportunities to wish women a happy International Women's Day. The women closest to me, my partner @giovi86 and my mother, are a bit alternative and don't believe in these kinds of holidays. They feel that these days have become too commercial and that there is little left of their original meaning. I agree with this sentiment for days like this, as well as Valentine's Day and other similar days. However, I want to emphasize that it's only a reflection of modern, fast-paced society and its focus on business. It has nothing to do with the message that we all share in honoring the wonderful women in our lives.

Until a few years ago, I celebrated International Women's Day as it made someone I loved very happy: my sweet grandmother, whom some of you may remember me talking about in the past. I had a wonderful relationship with her, and she was very close with Shyla, her beloved dog, and they were inseparable. Sadly, my grandmother passed away a little over two years ago, quietly and without illness, gradually fading away like a candle that had burned all its wax.


Ieri non ho avuto molta occasione di fare auguri alle donne, che stimo immensamente per la loro grandissima forza e tenacia, perchè le donne a me vicine, la mia compagna @giovi86 e mia madre sono un po' alternative e non credono in questo tipo di festività, per il semplice fatto che sono ormai tutte festività business per farci capire, è rimasto poco di originale e autentico, ma tanti cloni che comprano per seguire il trend di quel giorno e devo ammettere che anch'io condivido questo pensiero, per tutte quelle giornate come questa o San Valentino e quant'altro. Ma ci tengo a precisare che è solo una questione di come viene vissuta oggi dalla società moderna, frenetica e con il solo interesse del business, nulla ha a che vedere con il messaggio che porta, che tutti condividiamo nell'omaggiare le meravigliose donne.

Ma fino a qualche anno fa, festeggiavo anch'io questa ricorrenza, perchè rendeva felice una persona da me molto amata, la mia dolce nonnina, che alcuni di voi si ricorderanno, perchè più volte avevo parlato di lei e del nostro splendido rapporto e di come erano legate lei e Shyla, che passavano tutto il giorno insieme ed erano inseparabili. Purtroppo poco più di due anni fa ci ha lasciati, spenta per la vecchiaia, senza nessuna malattia l'ho vista piano piano spegnersi come una candela che aveva consumato tutta la sua cera.

Today, for some reason, I feel able to write about her for the first time since her passing. I've never been able to before because it made me feel like I had a weight on my chest. Even now, I'm struggling to write, but something is pushing me to do it. Today, I want to dedicate my thoughts to my beloved grandmother. Her loss has been the most destabilizing thing that has ever happened to me. She was the person who encouraged me to believe in myself and my abilities. She was interested in everything I did - my activities, fishing, and even my blog posts. She would ask me if I had published anything new and if she could read them. It was all wonderful for me. She wanted to know, not just for my sake, but for her own. She had a thirst for knowledge, even at nearly 90 years old. I always felt different from my other family members, both in terms of thinking and philosophy of life, but with my grandmother, I felt like we were on the same wavelength.


Oggi non so perchè è il primo giorno che riesco a scrivere di lei dopo quel momento, non ci sono mai riuscito prima, anche se avrei voluto, mi sentivo stringere il petto e stavo male, anche oggi inizio ad avere difficoltà a scrivere, ma qualcosa mi porta avanti a farlo, oggi voglio dedicare un pensiero alla mia amatissima nonnina. La sua perdita è stata la cosa che mi ha più destabilizzato in tutta la mia vita, lei era la persona che mi stimolava a credere in me stesso e alle mie capacità, era interessata a tutto ciò che facevo, le mie attività, la pesca, anche la scrittura dei post, mi chiedeva se avevo pubblicato e se poteva vedere. Tutto questo era meraviglioso per me, lei voleva conoscere, voleva sapere, ma non solo per fare un piacere a me, ma per se stessa, aveva fame di sapere anche prossima ai 90 anni. Nella mia famiglia rapportato agli altri miei famigliari mi sono sempre sentito diverso, sia nel pensiero che nella filosofia di vita, mentre con mia nonna mi trovavo affine come con nessun altro, i nostri pensieri viaggiavano sulla stessa lunghezza d'onda.

Now, back to March 8th. This day was important to my grandmother because she was an emancipated woman who had always worked in alternative jobs, such as a bartender at a nightclub in the 1950s, which was unusual for a woman at the time. She was a strong and proud woman, and she was proud of this day. So every March 8th, I would bring her a purple rose, her favorite, which she used to grow with my grandfather. This made her extremely happy. She would hold the vase for an hour, just smelling the rose. Perhaps she was thinking of distant memories; I don't know. If I asked her, she would just smile and say that the rose was beautiful and had a lovely fragrance.


Arriviamo alla questione 8 Marzo. Questo giorno era importante per mia nonna, perchè come donna emancipata da giovane che ha sempre fatto lavori alternativi, come la barista in discoteca, che negli anni 50 non era usuale per una donna. ei Da donna forte e orgogliosa, era fiera di quel giorno, per cui ogni 8 Marzo le portavo una rosa porpora, poiché erano i fiori che coltivava con amaro insieme a mio nonno, i suoi preferiti e questo la rendeva felicissima. Rimaneva anche un'ora intera con il vaso in maso ad annusare la rosa, forse viaggiava con i pensieri in ricordi lontani, non lo so, se gli chiedevo, lei si limitava a sorridere e dirmi che era proprio bella e profumatissima.

Not to mention the relationship she had established with @giovi86 in the short time they had to get to know each other. My grandmother really liked Giovanna, she liked her a lot, but it was mutual because Gio always went to visit her and ask her how she was doing, keeping her company, because she is a golden girl even though she has a difficult temperament sometimes, well, a bit like my grandmother was too.

I miss you, grandma, I miss you so much. I wish I could still have you here with me, so yesterday I brought you a rose and you would have let Shyla smell it, and then she would have started sneezing and you would have had a good laugh, holding Shyla under your arm as you always did. But unfortunately, life is like that, it has an expiration date and yours has already come, quite late, approaching 90 years old, which is already a great achievement, even though we would like to have our loved ones with us for our entire life. The only way we have to always feel them with us is to accept their loss and carry their memories, their teachings, and the emotions we experienced together always in our heart.

I think about her almost every day, but no longer with suffering, even though I miss her terribly. The best way I have to always carry her in my heart and rejoice is to continue to believe in myself as she taught me and never give up in the face of difficulties, just like she fought with her head held high throughout her life! Thank you, grandma, you are always with me in my heart.


Per non parlare del rapporto che aveva instaurato con @giovi86 nel breve tempo che hanno avuto a disposizione per conoscersi. Mia nonna stra vedeva per Giovanna, gli piaceva moltissimo, ma era reciproca la cosa, perchè anche Gio andava sempre a trovarla e chiederle come stava e farle compagnia, perchè è una ragazza d'oro anche se ha un caratterino difficile a volte, beh un po' come era anche mia nonna.

Mi manchi nonna, mi manchi tantissimo, vorrei ancora averti qui con me, così ieri ti portavo una rosa e l'avresti fatta annusare a Shyla che poi si sarebbe messa a starnutire e tu ti saresti fatta una bella risata, coccolandoti Shyla sotto il braccio come facevi sempre. Ma purtroppo la vita è così, ha una data di scadenza e la tua è arrivata anche abbastanza in la, sfiorando i 90 anni ed è già un bel traguardo, anche se si vorrebbe avere per tutta la vita i nostri cari accanto. L'unico modo che abbiamo per sentirli sempre con noi è accettare la perdita e portare i loro ricordi, i loro insegnamenti e le emozioni vissute insieme sempre nel nostro cuore.

Io penso a lei quasi tutti i giorni, ma non più con sofferenza, anche se mi manca terribilmente, il modo migliore che ho per portarla sempre nel mio cuore e gioire è continuare a credere in me stesso come mi ha insegnato lei e non arrendermi mai alle difficoltà come lei ha combattuto a testa alta per tutta la sua vita! Grazie nonna, sei sempre con me nel mio cuore.

All texts, photos, videos and images in this post are property of the author @stea90 - For CCO images that may be used, the source is always declared.

Programs used

Image processing: GIMP and Inkscape
Photo processing and development: Photoshop Express


Favorite communities

Olio di Balena
Pinmapple
Black and White
Foodies Bee Hive
LeoFinance


Social link

Instagram Dalla Stella Federico
Twitter Crypto Stea
Youtube Crypto Stea


If you want to support a good Witness and his great work to help so many users on Hive, vote for @Discovery-it as Witness.
You can also help with a delegation for @Discovery-it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency