ROADSIDE FLOWERS

While driving around the rural area about thirty-forty kilometers from my hometown ...

(Enlargeable)

... I saw a beautiful tree by the side of the road. Unlike most other trees along that country lane ...

img_6320_malo.jpg

... this one was in bloom.

img_6323_malo.jpg

Its branches were covered with a multitude of lovely white flowers ...

img_6315_malo.jpg

... so I stopped to take a couple of photographs.

img_6321_malo.jpg

Later, at home, after a quick search on the Internet, I found out that these are the flowers of the Prunus mahaleb tree. This plant is a species of wild cherry.
Its small black fruits are edible.

(Enlargeable)

On the small clearance across the road, I noticed some orchids ...

img_6267_samomalo.jpg

... so I photographed them too. These are the Green-winged orchids (Anacamptis morio).

img_6269_malo.jpg

Not far from the purple orchids, I found these yellow flowers ...

img_6279_samomalo.jpg

... of the Helianthemum nummularium plant.

img_6285_samomalo.jpg

A bit further I came across the remains of an old drystone wall covered with various shrubs. There, among the flowers ...

img_6298_malo.jpg

... I saw plenty of moss, so I mounted the macro lens to photograph these small capsules filled with spores.

img_6302_malo.jpg

While observing that small patch of terrain in macro view, I noticed also this minuscule flower of the Saxifraga tridactylites plant. These are definitely the smallest petals I encountered today.

img_6305_malo.jpg

In this generic shot, you can see the young shoot of some plant that I wasn't able to identify, surrounded by a bit of moss.

img_6310_malo.jpg

A bit further, surrounded by lichens, there was this empty shell of some terrestrial snail.

img_6311_samomalo.jpg

On one of the nearest small, shrub-like trees, I found an old, damaged nest of some small bird.

img_6326_malo.jpg

This plant ...

img_6324_malo.jpg

... that I wasn't able to identify ...

img_6333_malo.jpg

... was photographed near my parked car.

AND THAT'S IT. AS ALWAYS IN THESE POSTS ON HIVE, THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE MY WORK - THE END.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center