Blue for the Photo- Essay Community Contest

Good morning, everyone! And a happy long weekend if you happen to live in the US, where we have Monday off due to Memorial Day, or in Germany/Europe where Monday is also a public holiday, Pentecost.

Yesterday, I stumbled across this post in the new #photo-essay community and it's all about the color

Blue

Now I am not a blue person, it just isn't my color but I thought I could whip up something for this topic. So when I went for my afternoon walk around the neighborhood I kept my eyes peeled for all those blue flowers and things that pop into view all the time. Except - for those times when you're actually looking for them. All the blue flowers were gone and the sky was a bit hazy because it is nice and warm for the weekend. But I saw these walking across the parking lot of our local church - qualifies for blue, right?

IMG_5424.jpg

Since this is photo-essay I cannot just have one blue photo, so into my Lightroom catalog I dove this morning searching for blue. I was kind of surprised at how many different photos I have labeled with blue. Many, many more than I am sharing here and I am not even taking all the waves, ocean, and sky photos into account. Maybe I am liking blue after all?

Nah... it's the hubby, he's the blue person. Proof: His bike back in Germany! And the citronella candles - all his work. We took quite a few tours on this bike all around Mannheim and into France as well. The best time for it was late summer when the weather wasn't too hot and the vineyards were full of grapes.

20090927-026.jpg

20140817-006.jpg

20120916-717.jpg

Blue Angels

Who hasn't heard about them? The flying acrobats of the US Navy. We were visiting family in San Francisco and touring Marin County, the northern part of the Golden Gate Bridge when we first heard and then saw them. Apparently, they were training there at the time and we got a bit of a show with smoke trails and all. Here is one of the many 'close-ups' I took. Crazy to think how close to each other they're performing those maneuvers...

20151008-001.jpg

And what would be a blog post about the color blue without a picture of the country whose national color is blue (and white)

Greece

This particular photo of a Greek church was taken during a vacation on the island of Naxos. We took a drive through the countryside and stopped wherever we felt like. This was one of the stops.

DSC_07000.jpg

And to finish off this post and voyage through the different locations and years - enjoy a little Blue Curacao - LOL - I actually don't like it. And I have no idea what kind of cocktail we made at the time but - it sure looks pretty, doesn't it?

IMG_0719.jpg

And there you have it. This is my - maybe - one and only blue post.

Have a great rest of your weekend!

Cheers,
(Ocean)Bee

suntropicaldivider.png

Unless otherwise noted, copyright for all photos, dividers and gifs ©Oceanbee|ImagesByCW

divider.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments