Intuitive photography: taking pictures without a plan (ENG-ESP) Monomad challenge

IMG_8939.jpg

ENGLISH

Capturing the right moment is intuitive for me. Of course, there are ways and means that lead to knowing when it's exact and precise, and I'm aware of that to the point of knowing the technique, but so far I prefer to let myself be carried away many times by a "I don't know what" in every place I'm in.

When I'm in a city that is not my hometown, I rarely know where I am, and on this trip that I took just to take pictures, it seemed like the ideal opportunity to put into practice what I call "photographic intuition".

I drifted through the streets of Caracas, smelling the smog, the fried food of the street vendors; listening to the bus drivers, calling the passengers, the bugles, and feeling the inclement heat characteristic of the tropics.

IMG_8664-2.jpg

I got all this without planning, I simply followed my curiosity, and it led me to places I had never been, or those I had visited, I saw them in a totally different way.

Furthermore, I don't think it's always appropriate to apply intuitive photography, but it definitely helps to explore the city like never before, which also sparks ideas for projects of all kinds. In other words, it's a starting point to start a plan, without having one.

IMG_8679.jpg

ESPAÑOL

Captar el momento indicado es intuitivo para mí. Por supuesto, hay formas y maneras que conllevan a saber cuándo es la exactitud y la precisión, y estoy consciente al respecto hasta el punto de saber la técnica, pero hasta los momentos prefiero dejarme llevar muchas veces por un “no sé qué” en cada sitio que estoy.

Cuando estoy en una ciudad que no es mi natal, raras veces sé en qué parte estoy, y en este viaje que hice solamente para hacer fotos, me pareció la oportunidad ideal para poner en práctica lo que llamo “la intuición fotográfica”.

IMG_8772-2.jpg

IMG_8773.jpg

He estado a la deriva en la calle, oliendo el esmog, la comida frita de los vendedores ambulantes; escuchando a los autobuseros, llamando a los pasajeros, las cornetas, y sintiendo el calor inclemente característico del trópico.

IMG_8827-2.jpg

IMG_8881-2.jpg

Todo esto lo conseguí sin haber planeado, simplemente seguí mi curiosidad, y me condujo hasta lugares que nunca había estado, o los que sí había visitado, los vi de una manera totalmente distinta.

No creo que sea adecuado siempre aplicar la fotografía intuitiva, pero definitivamente ayuda a explorar la ciudad como nunca, lo que también hace que surjan ideas para proyectos de todo tipo. Es decir, es un punto de partida para iniciar un plan, sin tenerlo.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center