Empty churches, loss of faith? (ENG-ESP) Monomad challenge

IMG_8561.jpg

ENGLISH

Venezuela is a Catholic country, and you can tell by the number of churches in its cities, although they are not as full of believers as it might seem.

At least I noticed that when I went out on my bicycle with my camera in hand, to see what I could catch with my photographic eye.

IMG_8560.jpg

I found several churches, of different designs, some somewhat neglected by time, and above all: closed.

IMG_8590.jpg

It is true that on Sundays is where masses are usually held, and a considerable number of believers attend religiously in the literal sense of the word.

I went on a Saturday, and the streets were lonely as usual. During these days, people rest from the busy routine, or they may not have time for their God.

IMG_8568.jpg

ESPAÑOL

Venezuela es un país católico, y se puede notar por la cantidad de iglesias que hay en sus ciudades, aunque no están tan llenas de creyentes como pudiera parecer.

Al menos me percaté de eso cuando salí en mi bicicleta con la cámara en mano, para saber qué pudiera cazar con mi ojo fotográfico.

Encontré varias iglesias, de diseños distintos, algunas un tanto descuidadas por el tiempo, y sobre todo: cerradas.

IMG_8569.jpg

Bien es cierto que los domingos es donde se suelen realizar misas, y un número considerable de creyentes asisten religiosamente en el sentido literal de la palabra.

IMG_8578.jpg

IMG_8576.jpg

Fui un sábado, y las calles estuvieron solas como de costumbre. Durante estos días la gente descansa de la ajetreada rutina, o puede que no tengan tiempo para su Dios.

IMG_8574.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center